My First Indian Wedding

in #trending6 years ago (edited)

My neighbors were so gracious to invite my family to there sons wedding. I had to explain to my wife the importance of us attending such and intimate event like this because the first thing is there a neighbor, second they went out of there way to invite us as the only other people in the community that are not Indian to a traditional Indian wedding. I felt honored that they felt comfortable enough, and respected us enough to invite us. After I explained this to my wife she shrugged off her hesitation and we went.

The Indian weddings are in many ways a reversal of American weddings. Indian weddings really highlight and showcase the man being the head of the household. The Husband is catered to and respected before, during and after the ceremony. This was a little bit of a shock to my wife. The husband also walks around with a sword. This is some sort of symbolic ritual

This is a shot of the groom before they get into the car to go to the wedding ceremony

The wedding ceremony was held in a temple in Bridgewater NJ

This is shot of the brides parents car, nice!

The Groom and the Bride walk around the alter 3 times with the bride walking behind the groom and holding some sort of garment hanging off of the groom.

The Bride and the Groom

This is me

The women and men sit on separate sides of the temple during the ceremony.

A shot of the family, the picture didn't come out as well as I wanted. I had to cover my head, and so did my wife inside the temple as a sign of respect. We also had to take off our shoes. It was a great event.

Sort:  

Indian wedding food...to die for...

yumm yummmmm yummmmm

I love the spice in the food. It was so good.

LPT : take tandoori chicken , which is suppoted to be a starter
combine it with garlic naan ( must be fresh out of oven naan)

some mint chutney on side

Chilled dark beer


Your life will not be the same...

That is so great man. I love getting the chance to step out of our comfort zone to wxperience something new. I am glad you guys went. Be well

We had a great time, I feel like I was Indian in another life.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

You got a 60.24% upvote from @oceanwhale courtesy of @clearbluecrypto! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Amazing. Indian Wedding are indeed colorful, lots of rituals and amazing fooooddddd.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09