Measuring Your Tribes Health Via the Buy/Sell Wall

in #tribes5 years ago

My favorite part of Tribes by far has been learning more about investing and trading.

There are no minimum trade amounts, no fees to trade within the market, and those of us who are earning rewards have plenty to play with.

As much as I love STEEM, I don't mind if I have a bad trade and lose a few (or more) because the reality of it is that in "real" life, I can afford to play and gamble with a few extra dollars (like buying a lottery ticket or a scratchers, or spending money on a pizza instead of eating at home).

So losing a few steem trading seems like no big deal, but gaining a few steem trading seems like a thrill (cause, earning steem through my guesses is awesome!)

I did not choose to pull any of my earnings out of the engine, instead I chose to re-invest them into the tribes I was already invested in. What I mostly did, was trade my earnings for steem, wait for the value of the tribe to fall, and then buy back in, giving me a bigger foothold on the tribe stake.

One of the things I learned to look for when buying and trading was the health of the buy/sell wall.

I quickly learned that if the buy part of the wall is not healthy, it means that when you are ready to sell your asset, there may not be anybody to sell it to.

I also learned that if the sell wall is too high, there can not be too much of a profit to be made, because there are already token holders who are ready to sell.

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 2.16.52 PM.png

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 2.14.30 PM.png

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 2.08.51 PM.png

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 2.07.41 PM.png

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 2.06.47 PM.png

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 2.02.48 PM.png

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 2.02.07 PM.png

Screenshot 2019-10-04 at 1.59.06 PM.png

Those are pictures of the buy/sell walls of some of my favorite tribes.

Neoxian looks healthier to me as it seems that there are more orders for buying when the price lowers than orders to sell when price goes down.

Marlians, which is my absolute favorite is not looking so hot. Although the buy/sell wall seems to be non-existent, there seems to be a lot more willing to sell as the price goes higher than those willing to buy as the price drops. I hold a lot of these tokens but realize that if I buy too many, there may not be anyone to sell them back to at a later time.

AFITX also seems to have a flat line, but a flat line of more willing to buy then there are willing to sell.

This is what I see when I see these charts, do you see something similar, or do you see it completely different?

Sort:  

Thank you for posting from the https://steemleo.com interface 🦁

I think the best way to judge a project is by how many people are trying to buy. I was thinking of starting up my own tribe, but the only purpose our coin would have is to sell.

One thing I've found through my crypto journey is that coins need some sort of added Utility - like, great! I now have my [whatever] coin, what can I do with it? Steem is higher than a penny because you can do lots with it! Play games, write articles, invest in a whole other market! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04