Feverfew Tincture & My Medicinal Cupboard

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

qqq.jpg

This morning I was out and about in the herb and flower garden taking inventory of what will need to be harvested in the next few days so I can continue to add to my dried herbs, infused oils and tincture selection that I am working on building.

I spent some time last evening organizing one cupboard in the kitchen specifically for these items. Herbs like oregano, dill, chives and the like are in my pantry and spice section; but I needed an area to keep the medicinal herbs and flowers separate from the culinary herbs.

cupbaord.png

It's rare I have much down time here, but with Mr Golden D working so many hours at work, I have decided to start doing some menial tasks I have neglected in the past few months. Getting this cupboard in order was one of them.

Some of the tinctures, oils and dehydrated herbs I have in here include:

  • Red clover infused oil (for a future salve)
  • Red clover tincture
  • Dehydrated Yarrow
  • Wild lettuce tincture
  • Linden Blossom tincture (linden blossoms from @sagescrub)
  • Motherwort tincture
  • Comfrey tincture
  • Comfrey infused oil (for a future salve and lotion)
  • Mullein tincture
  • Plantain tincture
  • Goldenseal tincture (from @mountainjewel)
  • Holy Basil tincture (from @mountainjewel)
  • Dehydrated mullein
  • Dehydrated motherwort
  • Dehydrated Comfrey
  • Marihuana tincture (thanks to @carlgnash's post a few weeks ago)

All of the above mentioned tinctures and infused oils I have were added due to their properties and usefulness on my homestead. I researched ALL of them before deciding to add to the medicinal cupboard. I do NOT recommend anyone just make a tincture or infused oil without researching side effects and possible problems for themselves. I am not a certified medical professional and am making these for my own use

I am running low on dark colored glass bottles to store these in after the four week brewing time; so I will be hopefully heading off to a few garage sales, Goodwill stores or other places this weekend to find more.




ff tincture.png

This is recommended for people who suffer from migraines; and while I don't have migraines or am being treated for them, I do have some after effects from my auto-immune disease that cause my head to throb and hurt with some sensitivity to light. So... I figured I would like to have this around to try if I ever need it. I am NOT fond of all the pills you can buy and use to rid myself of a headache and in my ongoing desire to become more natural I believe adding this to my medicinal supply will be a good one.

I have more tinctures that I will be putting up this season as my herbs and flowers continue to grow and be harvested; and I am hoping this cupboard will be big enough for all my plans.

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I love your medicinal herb cupboard. I think it is super cool that a few of your herbs and tinctures came from other homesteads.

Oh I know!! It has been wonderful to be able to add to my own homestead from things from other homesteads. Such a great and supportive community!

Wow! All these treasures that you have!!! Love it! I also prefer natural remedies to pills but I'm definitely not as far as you! 😊

Great initiative @goldendawne! I love all your tinctures! I'm a fan of this natural goods myself!!! Keep the good work with that awesome cupboard!!:x:x

Thank you!!!
I have become much more observant on what is out there and what all the chemicals can do to your body. Natural is the way to go!

I completely agree. I'm very happy that I found this amazing "natural way to go" some long time ago. It completely changed my life actually. I try to control what I put in/on my body because the stuff we find these days are truly "scary". People do bad things for the money and don't care for the people anymore. Anyways, I think equilibrium is the key. Being careful enough without becoming crazy, its the best! Cheers from Romania :)

it's very good stipulation of the items in the closet, I like it that way and the good concoction is very nice to use. thank you

This is something my wife and I definitely need to look at. Another tool in our steps of becoming self-reliant. Thank you.

I never really knew how easy tinctures were to make before. Now that I know and I have started using them, I am thrilled.

One supplement I take daily is echinacea.. I'd like to learn how to make my own. You know with the dried flowers, capsules and such. One more skill (and supplies) for me to check in to.

If you need extra dill @lyndsaybowes will have plenty lol

Oh yeah!!! She is like the garden whisperer! She completely amazes me with all her homesteading and gardening skills.

I am wondering, Can you 100% grain alcohol to soak in instead of vodka! Vodka is made from potatoes, does that have anything to do with it?

Some recipes for tinctures do call for specifically Everclear which is 100-proof.. but most call for a minimum of 80-proof gin, vodka or rum. We had some gin I used in previous tinctures, but now I am onto the vodka. Not sure which I will prefer... but you can use an of the three from all my research.

Thanks! I was wondering because the stronger the alcohol should the tincture be stronger? That way you could use less of the tincture and that would make the tincture last longer. Just kinda thinking out loud here.

I have never used tinctures so thanks for the detailed info.

I can attest to the use of feverfew for you. I make a tea with dried leaves and it works very well for me. I have been using it for years without side effects.

THAT is a great testimony! I have been curious as to how well it works for headaches and can't wait for the time to go by so I can use it when I need to.

I love you cabinet of medicines, and such an interestign read, I must look for any Natural treatments for my Wifes IC issues with her bladder regular medicine cannot do anything for her and it is so frustrating

howdy again @goldendawne! hey the feverfew herb caught my eye because smithlab's wife suffered with migraines for years and he totally cured them or eliminated them with Feverfew! so you got some powerful herbs there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04