Ulog 28: Making Beef Short Ribs For The First Time EVER!

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)


When we picked up our quarter of a cow a few weeks ago, we had gotten six one-pound packages of beef short ribs. Now I have never had these nor made them in my lifetime; so I went on a recipe hunt the other day to find a good recipe.

What I found was an easy recipe and I had ALL the ingredients... so away I went to make these!

border.png

Recipe


This recipe is based on one pound of beef short ribs. I used 1 1/2-pounds so I adjusted recipe slightly.

  • 1-pound beef short ribs seasoned with salt & pepper and dredged in flour
  • one onion chopped
  • 1 teaspoon each of olive oil and butter
  • two cloves of chopped garlic
  • 1-12 ounce can of beet or stout (I used beer)
  • 1 can beef broth or beef bone broth

In a Dutch oven pot, heat oil and once desired heat level is met, add floured short ribs. Cook on each side for about 5-minutes- until a nice crust has formed. Once all the short ribs are done, remove from pot and set aside. Add teaspoon of butter to hot pot and add onions and garlic. Saute until soft then add beer and beef broth; making sure to scrape the bottom of the pot. Add the short ribs back to the pot; cover and let simmer on low heat for two hours.

The meat will literally fall off the bone when done simmering.

border.png

ribs done.jpg

The final meal with roasted potatoes and Brussel Sprouts.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Sounds awesome @goldendawne! I am inspired to get making these too! Today must be 'food' post day. LOL i just shared my latest meal too 😋

Have a wonderful day!! Happy Homesteading!! Steem on!

They were pretty good! I think next time I may make them in the slow cooker... a nice slow cook after I brown them up some.

Learn by doing! Good for you. Everyone iscraving about the 'instapot' where i live
Have you heard of it? I don't have one but can imagine this recipe would cook well in one. Happy Homesteading Friend!! Hugs 🌞🌄❤🌙🌞➡️

haha! howdy there goldendawne! not bad, not bad at all. I worked at a BBQ restaurant for about a year when we first got here in Texas and that was quite an experience. We only smoked with Mesquite wood on a rotiserie smoker and did brisket and pork ribs as our main specialties but also did beef ribs occasionally and I could smell yours from your photos!
great job.

I have been experimenting with my BBQ and BBQ-turned-smoker too. I LOVE making smoked salmon on it... SOOO good!

It smelled heavenly in here when they were simmering!

haha! yes Ma'am that is one great aroma! Well we would smoke our briskets for 12 hours over Mesquite wood and those things were unbelievable! lol.

Good job for not having cooked these before. You should be really pleased with the results! I gild the lily when I make mine now, which isn't often as we rarely eat beef. I cook mine basically the same with the addition of some peppers, celery and carrot. When they are almost done, I take them out and place them in a baking dish. I coat them with lots of homemade BBQ sauce and let them finish cooking in the oven...

Oh the carrots would have been nice too!
I was going to make sweet potatoes as a side dish but I had three potatoes that were ready to sprout, so I had a change of menu- but next time... sweet 'taters for sure!

Sorry to intrude on your replies, @goldendawne, but I need to get a message out to my friends on steemit. I hope you understand...thanks.

I am typing from a borrowed computer in a cyber cafe. My computer and both phones died on Saturday as well as our poor 17 year old kitty, Sally. Then on Sunday the grandfather of the family that is staying with us in the compound passed away. We had his funeral on Monday afternoon. Organizing a funeral in the midst of a war is horrendous. We have also had two tropical storms sitting over us dumping a tremendous amount of water causing flooding and mudslides. Tuesday my son and I were both sick to add to problems.

The country is in a terrible state. The central bank is bust and people are still being shot and being imprisoned with no hope of release as they have been deemed terrorists. Everyone's safety is in peril. We don't dare leave the compound after noon on any day. Going to the cemetery was a risk. I can't replace my phone or my computer until I don't know when so I will not be on here or steemit much if at all. I all ready miss all my friends on both platforms and on discord. If I plan it right, I may be able to keep in touch with people through discord. Until We chat again. Take care. ♥💔😢

Yum this looks like very delicious dear, i am only eat short ribs in a restaurante, but i guess this is more more delicious tan the other that one could buy.

Sad that I have never had them before but I will definitely be making them again. I still have about 3 1/2 pounds left in the deep freeze. So I can experiment with other recipes too.

Well we hope you enjoyed great recipes with ribs it is a delicious part. Yum yum.

There’s a great recipe using root beer. Lol you soak them in root beer over night then in the crockpot, then the grill...it’s on Pinterest. It’s a no fail! You made me want to make them! Looks delish!

Oh I LIKE THAT! Soaking overnight... the best marinades turn out this way! THANKS for idea!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.740 which ranks you at #1419 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1422).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #190.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

So, did you like this recipe? :))

They were pretty good.. considering I had nothing to compare them to. I bet if I ordered some in a restaurant mine would pale in comparison though... maybe one day I will order these if we ever go to a restaurant that serves them.

We've done them once in the crockpot, but weren't impressed. It was our own beef, and I can't remember what the recipe was....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29