Ulog 7: Out With The Old, In With The New... And A Weekend Of Property Hunting

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

Changes Are Inevitable

Some times in life, we need to get rid of the old to make room for the new.

Some times it's by choice; other times it's by necessity.



Last Friday we had our central air and furnace (HVAC) system replaced. Our house was built in 2004, and both were originals (and you know things are NOT made to last like they use to be) and after having a repairman out here twice for the AC unit and three times for the furnace in the last two years that we've owned our house... the time had come to replace.

ac.png

Old (left) versus new


Now... me being the cheap, frugal, penny-pinching person that I am... this was a rough day for me. Not because there were two men in and out of my house. Or that my OCD life and day was broken up. But because I knew when all was said and done that I would have to write a check for the work.

Yes... my hand was shaky as I wrote out that check to the installation man. It kind of hurt... the pocketbook as well as my heart to see all that hard-earned savings going bye-bye. The price you have to pay for comfort some days.

That dirty deed done... I spent the next two days of the weekend enjoying Mr Golden D's company. We spent Saturday evening hibernating indoors when he was home from work; then on Sunday we went for an afternoon drive.

Sundays Are Meant For Fun (And Property Searching)



First stop was to visit my parents; mom was out of a few herbs for her teas and she had picked me up two cases of canning jars that she found on sale (plus she had some coupons for them). So we did our monthly swap.

Then we were off to look at some rural properties we had found Saturday during our down time together...

barn.png


daisy.png


vetch.png


land.png

The second property was by far the most liked by both of us. It had just over 12-acres of land; mostly wooded, a creek running through the northwest corner, two easements into the property, had electrical hooked up already, had a water perc test done and we actually scared up four deer as we walked along the one ATV brush-hogged easement road. PLUS it sits on a dead end road (maybe 1/2-mile in total length) off the beaten path with only three other houses and residents.

Downfalls you ask? Needs a septic done, needs the well dug, needs to have a building site cleared and the road into the property (off the one easement) needs to be re-done. It has ruts about 12-18 inches deep. Yeah.. my little SUV would get stuck first time out.

We contacted the realtor as we had a few more questions... so we'll see. Is it possible we'll be moving before the five-year plan/goal? Maybe... one can only hope.

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I got rid of everything and now all I have left is this lap top and a small suitcase of clothes

WOW! talk about being a minimalist! That is definitely what you are

I can't stand clutter

what the?? howdy there wales but I've never heard of anyone being able to live out of a suitcase, do you live with someone else who has alot of stuff? sorry to barge in here but your statement is remarkable and intriguing!

I do a lot of travelling and have had to leave everything behind me as I've travelled onwards. I started off with a huge suitcase, saxophone and etc but over the years I can live with just a few clothes in a small suitcase on wheels and my laptop. I usually buy a new camera in the country I visit to take photos there.

howdy there wales! thanks for the explanation, so you are saying that you don't have a permanent residence but you just travel around the world?

For a while now I've been staying with my son until his new baby came along; well she is here now and is 6 months old, so it's almost time for moving along again; maybe come back next spring

oh ok wales, well that is a very interesting lifestyle. Do you make posts of your travels? And how do you resist buying things when you're in one place for awhile?

I have to resist everything, most especially the hard-wear on the stalls as I walk past thinking, now that could safe my life some desperate night that finds me camping in the hills with only my hands to save me; but they will arrest me if I carried that. I don't spend money on things but just save it for my next adventure. I met a couple Texans in Thailand running a beef farm and doing quite good too, married to Thai ladies

howdy this fine Tuesday wales! oh how interesting that the Texans brought beef raising to Thailand! good for them. but when you speak of hard-wear on the stalls, I don't know what that is referring to?
you have alot of self-discipline!

howdy there goldendawne on this fine Monday! wow nothing is more exciting than looking for a new place! I thought that was way in the future but how wonderful it would be if you could do it sooner! love this post.

Yes it was originally a five-year goal and plan.. but Mr Golden D is getting anxious. lol
We want to be settled before he retires... and we started considering what if we need to clear some land or what if we need to do this and that on the property... so earlier may be the way we're gonna go

howdy this fine Tuesday goldendawne! oh I see..well, if ya'll can handle it financially then I vote to go early too! how exciting!

I know what you mean about forking out for things! Anything over the £100 mark and I'll have to insist that the De-fribilators come out!
Property hunting? Sounds like exciting times ahead.. Good Luck.

Oh man.. this fork out hurt me so bad. I am cheap and frugal.... sigh.. I almost heard the check being cashed at the bank and my heart fell- lol

Yes property for us to hunt. We love venison and there are so many other small animals (rabbits, squirrel) that would be accessible.

PLUS... my permanent greenhouse(s) would be a reality with this much land.

That A/C unit looks pretty rusty for being a 2004 model. Do you live near the ocean? Our first one lasted for 30 years and was 100% trouble free until the day it quit working.

Searching for a new place to live must be a thrill. I would love to have a property with a stream on it.

No ocean nearby at all... I think the people who lived here before just didn't take care of it... you know, cover it up during off season, etc. We had to replace the capacitor in the AC twice in the last two years. Plus I think this was one of Carrier's (the brand) lower models.

Us women have very different priorities to the men! I had to laugh at your comment @goldendawne. But wow, property hunting. Excited? Nervous? The potential for expansion is incredible. I wish you all the best

lol- yes! He was looking at.. how far was the pole barn from a potential house site and how to brush-hog away the piles of felled trees and rubbish; while i was snapping pictures of the plants and thinking... how can I get the greenhouse close enough to the well site? Where can I put up a small garden shed?
We are quite the pair!

How's your local network? You can make lots of trades for lots of stuff that needs doing. I've traded for road work (when I didn't have my own tractor) and digging. I'm not a very good hoe hand so even renting a back hoe and digging my own septic system is problematic. It'd take me a week to do what a good hand can do in a day or less. I have traded mechanic work for both. Generally motors or hydraulic repairs. A whole lot of those guys live in the 'grey' economy....

I just love looking at property and imagining the possibilities. Thanks for sharing some of yours with us.

Not much as far as a local network goes here; or at least that I know of.
I'd love to have a bartering system here... but this is still too suburban where we live now. People aren't that giving.
I know when l lived further north and more rural.. it was a great bartering thing. EVERY one was helping out every one. Hoping for that again once we get some property and get settled in.

Aww.. I feel you. But it's okay at least you got your new AC unit for your comfort. :-D

Yes... I know most people consider central air a frivolous thing but unfortunately with my auto-immune disease.. the AC can actually help ease an episode for me.
So I have to categorize it as a necessity.

I've always said that will all the downsides of renting (which is what hubby & I are doing), one of the biggest upsides is not having to write a check like that. However, congrats on your new install!

We've talked for many years about eventually getting some land and homesteading, so I'm wicked jealous of your property hunting. Sounds like I'd have the same priorities as you when checking them out... LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17