Rock me Steady and Dub I Up with Reggae: ❤💛💚Friday Night Attitude with Gratitude #5

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

Gratitude is easy for me because I get so enthused and appreciate of things that rock my world. I can get enthralled by the smallest things and profoundly appreciative of the biggest, and there's things I'm so darn grateful for that I can't imagine life without them. It's this kind of stuff that brings positivity to my life and a great deal of joy (amongst the tough stuff, granted!)

Music's a big one for me. Dad used to sit me in the dark and make me listen to tunes LOUD, tapping out the rhythm on the floor, his fingertips close and the dark full of sound.


We didn't have a lot of reggae growing up though - we had a few albums amongst the cupboard of vinyl though. One was Peter Tosh's 'Bush Doctor' and I still love listening to the last track 'Creation', and the other was 'Mystic Man' - that was the 70's and I think Tosh was pretty well played in Australia on the radio. I remember there was a scratch and sniff marijuana sticker on the cover and as youngsters we were reasonably enthralled by that! Of course Dad had Marley's Legend too but that was the extent of my reggae knowledge.



When I moved to England and met J, we were driving back from the pub with a whole heap of crew and one of them had put on a cassette of Eek-A-Mouse. I'd known him three whole days and I can still feel his arms around me with that music playing, in the way emotion can imprint these things on you! From there, I wanted to listen to as much as this music as I could, and I remember travelling home to Australia with a walkman and a box set of reggae on CD. There I was drinking bintang in the moonlight listening to Johnny Clarke, The Upsetters, The Scientists and all this other music I'd never heard before in my life and I was completely SOLD!

J used to run a dub reggae sound system with a mate in Brighton, UK, and had stacks of reggae, rocksteady and dub on vinyl and that pretty much became the soundtrack of our first years (along with a healthy sprinkling of Johnny Cash, acid house, world and all the other stuff we were listening to - we do have eclectic taste!). I love everything about it, from dancehall to more dark, deep bassy dub, from calypso and roots to newer stuff. It just had a freshness to me because it was so unfamiliar to anything I'd really heard, yet was still triggering all those nice memories of Dad playing Tosh and Marley. I remember a Saturday arvo party drinking cider in the British sunshine listening to one of my fave albums of all time - plus, I love the cover of this album!



So I'm grateful for Saturday mornings with dub on the stereo loud as we're pottering about. It always raises us up. If gratitude is about abundance, music like this reminds me of the fullness of life and how rich it can be. My heart bubbles up with positivity and J often grabs me and swings me around the kitchen like it was the week we first met. In fact, I can't simmer a stew without singing reggae:

It's a big thumping gratitude, a full heart full of tunes that doesn't need anything else - just this joy of rhythm and roots.

"'Enough' is a feast. Buddhist proverb


Reggae is a total feast for me. Well, one of them anyway - as some of you might know, I do feast on all sorts of music. Just today, I'm grateful for reggae!

What music do you feast on?

I was tagged by @canadianrenegade to:

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)

  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

I'm a little worried about tagging three people, because I don't want to obligate them, and am worried they are already tagged or have done it before! But here goes - I'm going to nominate @startreat @sanddrift @holisticmom


B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


Thanks so much for stopping by! Check out the other passengers on the #ecotrain hashtag - there's some fabulous steemposts about permaculture to meditation, environmental issues to food forests - you can read more about the @ecotrain here. They have great minnow support and an ethical bot as well!


ecotrain.png

Want to find more quality posts about helping the Earth and humanity and generally making the world a better place? Check out the #tribesteemup trail.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

I'm just running out the door, but I'll come back to this! So many memories. Lovely!

Awww no problem xxx

Thank you. I will try my best to do this. :-) And you can't beat the sweet sounds of Reggae to uplift the spirits! Also used up all my voting power so will upvote when it's back. Big love to you <3

Thats okay sweetheart you can go share that sweet vote with someone who needs it more than me! 💜💜💜 Your comment is what matters and hopefully a few grateful vibe posts HM Foggy Sark stylie 😛😘

Aww thank you. ha ha yeah I went a bit overboard with the upvoting this morning lol.
Ha ha I am grateful for the fog... because that means the sea temp is rising ! <3

What music do you feast on?

Oh yiis, here it's all about blues and classic rock! Still waiting to meet Jarah so we can kick those slide guitars!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77