What Does It Mean To Be A Light-Worker?- TribeSteemUp Bi-Weekly Question

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)


I really appreciate the wonderful questions that the Tribe members have come up with of late, each one has taken me on a journey, getting me to dig deep and find my understanding and truth about the wonderful topics that have been put forward. Today I ask myself

What Does It Mean To Be A Light Worker?

This question was put forward by the wonderful @eco-alex, who also puts questions forward for the EcoTrain, where he gets these thoughtful and thought provoking questions from, I don't know, but I am grateful that he does and that he shares them all with us.

I usually don't read any one else's answer before writing my own, but to be honest I was too curious to see how some of the other Tribe members identified with the term light worker. There is a big community of healers where I live at the moment and lots of people run retreats and lots of people make a shed load of money out of healing others. It is quiet a trendy place to come and be enlightened and healed. Personally I have a big problem with this whole industry, not with everyone involved, but I do with those who advertise that they can sort out your problems, that they can make your life better, that they can bring you into the light, whilst filling their pockets.

True healing must come from within, we must be the ones to heal ourselves. We do not need more people telling us what to do. Healing needs to go back to the root of listening to yourself, learning from yourself, accepting yourself and loving yourself. Not handing over all your money and power to some one who will stand up and tell you and everyone else, that what you are doing is wrong and then convince you that they are the ones to make everything right again, if you just listen to them. No listen to yourself. None of this hierarchy bull please, no one person is better than another. We are just at different stages, of our life journey.


I really needed to get that off my chest because I feel so many are becoming more disempowered when they should be empowered. Around here, you can only reach our full potential if you can afford to pay for it. These people are certainly not true Light-Workers.

For me a true Light Worker is someone who is no stranger to the dark, for one leads to the other and we can not fully understand what it is to be in the light if we have not been in the dark. We need both in the world. The balance between the two is where acceptance comes into play. In order to move into the light we need to accept the part of us that grew in the dark, accept and honour it, because it sculpted us into who we are today. If we can not do that, then we can not move forward. With acceptance comes love and understanding and these are the things that take us into the light.

I have had darkness in my life and that darkness stripped away layers of me, it left me raw and exposed, and at times it left me feeling empty. But with that, was the opportunity to fill myself up again and here lies one of the biggest choices we have!

What is it we wish to fill ourselves up with.

This is the decision that will define us and that will set us further on our path. Because we can decide to stay in that darkness or we can decide to fill ourselves up with light. It is okay to be in the darkness sometimes, but we need the light in order to thrive. To move forward and grow. The darkness holds everything in, it keeps us locked within ourselves and yes there is a time and a place for that. But we are not meant to have such inner turmoil. We are meant to let the light flow through us, let life flow through us. Not hold on, not hold back, but free ourselves and open our hearts to all that life and nature provides for us.



For me a light worker is someone who draws from the darkness, in order to fully embrace the light.

A true Light-Worker is not here to preach and tell others what to do. They understand that We need to be empowering ourselves, not adding to this age of dependency, where we are always looking to others to sort our lives out. There is this desire to help people re-awaken to the awesome power that we all hold inside. This ability to see the beauty in everyone, in everything, the ability to accept everyone for who they are. Accept and move on if needs be, but the brightest light comes from a place of love. That is the light the world needs today. A light that breaks down barriers, that helps unite and creates a world that radiates and blasts out love. This is what a light worker strives to do. And yet there are times when the darkness pulls us back in, because we need that darkness, it is the fire that drives us and propels us into the light.

We are all Radiant Stars, some of us just need to remember!

Sort:  

It is true we need to be in the darkness to come into the light. I learned true forgiveness from the harm I suffered at the hands of another.

Myself as well @emergehealthier, thank you for taking the time to stop by xx

Ths ils biotifol ♨♨

Posted using Partiko Android

We are all Radiant Stars, some of us just need to remember!

Wonderful affirmation of which I am very convinced, dear @ trucklife-family. A great hug!

thank you @zeleiracordero my friend, I hope you are having a wonderful weekend xxx

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Couldn't have said it better myself. I agree re the self called light workers profiting off the moniker or status of the name and the name light worker kinda irritates me. But I love what you say about self work and being empowered by the dark. You are a shining example of this.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you my lovely friend, yeah it is a term I don't really use myself for that very reason, but then I thought it does actually mean something positive and we should be reclaiming those things that are misrepresented. Thank you for your beautiful compliment xxxx

A good question, and a term more people would benefit from understanding!

One of the core statements of our own organization is that "a single speck of light can dispel a universe of darkness." For us, being a "lightworker" is as much an action as it is a description. We work in the light; when offered the option, we choose light over dark... but by no means deny the presence of darkness.

Bright Blessings!

thank you @whitelightxpress for your feedback and bright blessings to you too x

Nice art. Have a great weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love this. Really resonating with your emphasis on integrity and selflessness. The light worker not as some commericalized phoney - but a well rounded character who has the depth to go into the dark and the decency to not monetize the light they bring.

I definitely also have these reservations, and struggle to negotiate a world which requires money tokens yet needs our deep authenticity - without conditions. How do we value deep wisdom and knowing? Perhaps the individual can leave it up to others to decide if they wish to share, instead of systematizing a payment scheme. I have heard a lot of people talk about having an equal exchange of energies - so for me this is still an unresolved area of inquiry.

And for sure, it's only from the context of ignorance and suffering that we have the capacity to expand more fully. Awesome explanation!

thank you @phillyc for your awesome feedback xxx

ooh Nice! great line at the end about drawing from the darkness.. indeed!

SO.. where do i get all these questions huh! Ill tell you.. i get them from the forest and from the angels.. Last week i was singing kirtan when suddenly i couldnt stop them coming to me.. it was quite funny.. i had to keep running to my computer to type them because they were so good! I got a few more lined up dont worry ;_)

Here's one more that came, i like this one for the next qotw
What rituals do you have, and why are they important to you?
<3

oh I love that question, I love it a lot, so much to say on that xxxx and how those questions come to you, well that is just magical. please keep them coming they are so enlightening and so good for me right now xxx

I appreciate the distinction you draw between how people share their gifts. I resonate with @phillyc's way of looking at exchange that is voluntary.

Originally I was attuned to Reiki and eventually being a Reiki Master so that I could help one of my sisters who was diagnosed with a chronic disease that was causing her a lot of suffering. But then I decided at one point to go beyond just sharing that rebalancing energy with family and plants to organizing the ability to share it with many strangers. When I made that decision I had to become more formal about what I was doing, setting aside time, transporting myself, etc. But at the same time I still had that initial desire to help those I felt most needed my help regardless of anything else.

My way of resolving it was to reach out to non-profits and offer to do the sessions for free for their clients if they basically did all the heavy lifting and I just had to show up, donating my time and transportation needs. They provided the space, the straight-back chairs I liked to work in, and the scheduled recipients for each 1 hour session. I wound up doing not only hundreds of clients of some non-profits, but also the entire staff, all the way up to the Executive Director at one!

I also did private sessions at my home by donation. But then I had more work to do myself, because I had to run an ad in the local paper, have a phone number other than my home phone to publish in it, let people I met know what I did (complete with business cards so they could get my contact info) and schedule the people. I also had to have a room in my house kept just for those sessions, and buy the right kind of chairs.

So for all that I definitely wasn't going to be working for free. I was happy to work by donation though at first. This never supported me, but it was enough of an exchange that I felt good about doing it for probably 50 private sessions over a couple years, whereas I'd done hundreds at the non-profits when I didn't have to do so much to make it happen and could just focus on the sessions.

After about 50 sessions the entire thing became not worthwhile to me, because I just hated all the part that went with making it happen. I think that may be why some people wind up charging a set fee, and a high one at that. At some point they probably stop wanting to do the organizational part of it, but if they ever set things up so that this is what they need to do to support themselves, they're stuck needing to charge more to make themselves willing to keep doing it. It becomes a job/business, not a calling at that point. That doesn't mean they can't still do it effectively, since really one is simply offering oneself as a channel of something happening through you, not by you. But I wonder if it doesn't take something away from the "lightworker" themselves to turn the gift into a job.

thank you for this feedback @indigoocean, my experience is only as an observer, and I understand that for some their is a need to make some money, we all need to do so. I think any type of healing should be available to everyone, there should be an option for those that can't afford like an exchange or something. But for me it is more than just the money aspect, I have seen some people get a power trip out of the fact that they hold the answers for some and this worries me and indeed these people are not true light workers, what a shame that this even exists though. I do not like how some people advertise themselves as having all the solutions and being able to change your life, the answers are within us all, maybe advertise that you can help bring some guidance. There is just too much of this sort of thing happening near where I live at the moment and it does get to me as it really only segregates people further. I believe true light workers would reach out to and want to work with anyone who comes to them and always fine a way to make it work for both. xxx
I really do admire all the work you have done and thanks again for shedding some light for me xxx

Oh I got the point of your post and took no offense. Just wanted to speak to the part that I could and riff on phillyc’s excellent comment. It is important to me also that people be clear to self and others that a person cannot take the place of the natural healing power that is in us all. It’s great to be able to help someone reconnect with that, but reconnecting isn’t creating. People who call themselves “healers” often spread confusion about this simply because they’re confused themselves. They actually think they are the source of the healing! Ego claims everything as its own creation. “Only I can fix this,” is its slogan.

thank you, yes it is those type of healers that offend me as you so rightly put it, it is all about helping people to reconnect xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13