Empowerment. What Empowers You?

in #tribesteemup5 years ago (edited)

This week @tribesteemup asks: What empowers you?

I recently answered some interview questions for the @homesteaderscoop where I touched on many of the things that we do that bring a strong sense of empowerment to my life.

Further to that, I've come to realize that yelling and waving my fist at the government and corporations is futile (for me). I'm not good at being that angry fierce voice and too much anger makes me ill.

Instead, I do what I am good at. I study them and I boycott these companies ensuring that not a penny of our money goes into their pockets.

I just don't trust our modern food systems. With all of the food recalls, pesticides, animal cruelty and other concerns, I grow more and more of our own food each year while learning other skills such as foraging, fermenting, wildcrafting, building and natural health. Every skill we learn is rewarding and deeply empowering.

IMG_5288.jpg

Organic, pure wildcrafted wine. No chemicals or preservatives, pesticides or other icides because to us, it matters.

It's not just doing these things that empowers me. The act of sharing what I've learned, teaching and helping others, is my own form of rebellion - AND this is incredibly empowering!!

By writing, telling stories, documenting, sharing & teaching, we shine the light on better options and smarter ways of doing things. When you've managed to light that spark and inspire someone, that is the ultimate in empowerment. when your kids listen and see, there's a sense of deep relief that perhaps there is hope and a chance for change.

we don’t just sell products. We tell stories and share knowledge and resources freely. Everything we do, anyone can learn to do if they have the inclination. We keep it simple intentionally.

IMG_3989-1024x683.jpg

The resounding message that we consistently deliver is that when your skincare, healthcare, and food all come from the same source: the garden, THEN you are onto something!

The key to solving many persistent problems is not complicated, and it’s been a message passed down through the centuries “Let food be thy medicine.” When that connection is made, everything changes, and we are so deeply passionate about helping others to make that connection.

This life we live, with deep intention - that's what empower me.

I would love to know: What empowers you?

Sort:  

I long ago decided I could not change what other people do. But I could change how I live and how my money is spent. I put my life energy into healthy living.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You’ve been visited by @riverflows on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Oh gosh, I forgot about adding this question to the list of questions to be answered this week! Just did the Ecotrain one and feel abit rattled, as it always forces me to think quite emotionally about stuff. But yeah baby...........DEFINITELY feel empowered by growing my own. I love the whole idea of gardening being PUNK - it's a step outside of a constraining system. Gosh, love that photo of you - hope your garden BLOOMS so much this year that you are inspired to take more photos of you guys in your TREASURE garden!!!! love it

Did you know that @ecotrain and @naturalmedicine are colloborating on an awesome challenge where you can win 50 Steem? Check it out here.
If you are interested in natural healing from herbalism to alt diets to mindfulness, and everything else in between, you might like to join Natural Medicine on Discord or consider delegating a little to support healing wisdoms on the Steem blockchain.
50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

You always say it better than I can - love punk gardening! Yeah! I have loads of photos of my husband working but he won't let me share them. He is trying to get the hang of my camera but I am a bit possessive of it. We do need more human life in our images though :)

skincare, healthcare, and food all come from the same source: the garden, THEN you are onto something

THESE are words to live by! literally

oh I love this, you are living a very empowered life and it is so true that we empower ourselves even more when we are empowering others by sharing our knowledge and skills, love that video and the passion that comes through your writing xx

thank you @trucklife-family - this was a bit messy but it did come from the heart. xx

Oh, it's such a pleasure to agree: let food be your medicine, let nature be your food, let nature be your teacher, your friend, your lover? Oh yes! Right now in this moment I feel the connection so strong. Loving your post. Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78