Tripto's Trading Log, Entry #5

in #triptolemus6 years ago

Intro:

I'm not a full-time trader, I just do it for fun on the side of what I call my "real" investments which are far more long-term plays in stocks and crypto.

Trading is a hobby of mine. It's proven to be profitable and definitely viable. I love doing it but I know that short-term trading like this is both risky and unpredictable!! That's why I don't rely on it for my main income stream.

I look at trading as being something for fun and profit (with the right mindset) - if you're as unemotional as possible and always look to take profits early and then take profits completely off the table, then I think long-term success is definitely possible.

I've trade for years on both the traditional stock market as well as the options market and now the crypto markets. Trading is high risk/high reward. It's similar to poker bankrolling if you're familiar with that practice/skill.

It's a skill to know how to manage your funds. It's a skill to be able to shift money in and out of the game and then take profits off the table. Seek to cultivate that skill, and I think you can see massive upside over the long-term. Stay curious and stay cautious!

Tripto Trade Log Entry 5:

I opened a new position yesterday in ETH and then I managed to close the position a few hours after at my preset sell level of 225.48!!

This is an important note: ETH went up another 2% above my sell level, I could've made 2x the profits, right?

I don't like to look at my trades in this way. I'm very mechanical and meticulous about this. I use preset sell levels to take 2% off the table and I don't look back. I don't look at how I could've made more money. I feel like that's just toxic thinking!!!

Open and Closing Positions:

Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 12.12.06 AM.png

  • Underlying: ETH
  • Buy Price: 221.06
  • Expected Sell Price: $225.48
  • Actual Sell Price: $225.48
  • Expected Profit: ~2%
  • Actual Profit = 2%

I already have the next buy order set for 221.06 again. This range continues to have disproportionate success!!! I believe this is my 6th or 7th play in this range that has sold in under 72 hours in the last week or so. Incredible!


Disclaimer:

Nothing in this post or in any other post I write about my own trading/investing should be read as financial advice. All information in this post is simply for entertainment purposes only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89