I don't do lifts anymore

in #true5 years ago

The one fear I have is riding in a lift. haven't always been like that and it has just been a build up of bad experiences over time.In my mind I can think of nothing worse than being trapped in a steel coffin.

In the past I have been up to some high floors in a lift and thought nothing of it.I don't really like heights at the best of times and would rather look up than look down.

When I was younger one of my friends managed to jam a lift by playing with the buttons.I was not happy seeing the doors open and just seeing brickwork in front of me.It turned out fine as the lift started to work again,but it had created a phobia.

Fast forward 20 years and I had to clear some shipping papers for a container that was arriving.If I am not mistaken that was on the 18 th floor of a building called John Ross House.On the way up the lift rattled and shook and I wasn't comfortable.The building was virtually deserted as floors were taped off on the lift buttons,showing they were vacant. After doing the paperwork I decided to use the stairs.A few days later I was reading about 3 people that had died in a lift.The lift cables had failed and had fallen with the people inside. The lift was the same one I had used a few days earlier at John Ross House.
ecauv7epec.jpg
Lucky escape in this building when the cables snapped and the lift dropped 84 floors before getting wedged between the 11th and 12th floors.

A couple of years ago I was visiting a government building with a work colleague in Johannesburg and caught the lift to the third floor.The lift however didn't stop at the third floor but went ridiculously fast to the top floor.It didn't even line up with the floor and we both jumped out at the same time as the door opened.That ride was like watching my life pass before me and has been the last time I have used a lift.

I don't know what it is but I will rather take a few more minutes climbing the stairs than riding a lift.

Image source news.sky.com and thegate.boardingarea.com

Sort:  

I choose stairs whenever I can, because I feel the same way about elevators. What really kills me is when I see people taking them to go up 1 floor. ONE FLOOR. COME ON GUYS! Hahaha. I am glad to see I am not the only one in fear! :)

It is strange and we are not alone thank god.

Given the state in which infrastructure has fallen in SA in recent years, I cannot but commend your decision to swear off the use of lifts.

I see it as a death wish these days.

Jesus no wonder you don’t like them. Never really had a bad experience yet . I could nearly fix them at this stage because they are always going on the blink in work . But there are so many safety trip switches that would avoid the inevitable here that the risk is minimum . In Germany some of the staff were stuck for 6 hours in our lift . Not good .

I used to get sick on elevators when I was a kid. I don't mind them so much now. Actually I really don't even give them a second thought most of the time. Maybe I need to start being more cautious. It's not an everyday thing that I use them though. More like once a month if that.

You should be fine in the States.

The lift cables had failed and had fallen with the people inside.

I can't fathom how something like this can happen, because for what I know, the cables aren't (at least shouldn't) be nowhere near their absolute maximum load capacity, but just a fraction of it. You'd think that security measures would be appropriate, but I guess not (over there in SA where you live).

But hey, using stairs only you'll get some benefit exercise! I actually do the same even though we have good elevators in Finland.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a good habit to dodge the lifts here.

You must be pretty fit climbing the stairs to all those high floors. I don't do lifts myself and can run the stairs to at least the sixth floor without pausing for breath.

I try and meet in the coffee shop downstairs these days.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

  • you have 106 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 280146381185 or 0.149 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.030 $

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19