The date where everything went wrong

in #truestories4 years ago

Seeing the post from @verhp11 referring to @slobberchops post about writing about true stories in life, this got me thinking about what a cool kind of initiative this is. Everybody has cool/stupid/wonderfull/mentionable stuff to tell about their lives. Mostly we put it into pictures but actually there is nothing wrong about telling a story for once about it. So why not share?



Screenshot_20191005-105152_Photo Editor.jpg

A couple of years back I met a dude on the beach who was a friend of a friend. We spoke briefly and kept running into each other on other occasions the weeks after. We were aways talking and decided we should plan a date, seeming that there was some chemistry going on.

I don't know how you are on dates, but I get really nervous and sometimes make a complete fool out of myself. Well this date was difficult to plan, since we both had entirely different working schedules. So we planned to meet up after my work on a random Thursdaynight. This was perfect for me, head home, take a shower for a bit, and be all fine.

So on the day of the date, my work was crazy busy. So busy that actually I was stuck in surgery until way after my regular working hours. Since while being in surgery does not allow you to call, I had one of my co-workers call him to say that I was running tremendously late. 'Uhhhh, hi....This is Karins colleague. She is stuck and will call you after.' The first fail.

After finishing he was so kind to pick me up, but this was already long later on the evening. What he had planned was to drive to a nice view point and watch the sun set, but since it was already dark this also wasn't an option anymore. Second fail.

We decided to drive to a nice view point and watch the lights from the other islands. Because it had rained the road towards there was super shaky and rocky, and we almost slipped getting to the view point. All of a sudden he pulled out a bottle of champagne and two plastic glasses, which was super cool. At first half of the bottle flowed out because the bottle was so shaken, and when we had two glasses poured and put these on a rock, both of them were blown over by the wind. No more bubbles. Next fail.

Laughing our butts off we decided to drive home and accept that this was the fate of the date. At home I found there was sort of a house party going on (I lived in this Melrose Place like appartment complex) where all kinds of people were gathered in the garden. We decided this also fitted the picture of nothing working out.

Things do not go as planned. Just laugh about it and accept it. I stayed together with this dude for more than 2 years after this.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I don't know how you are on dates, but I get really nervous and sometimes make a complete fool out of myself.

You didn't strike me as the nervous kind? Surely not!

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.500 which ranks you at #2155 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 98 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72