Headlights restoration. (how to)

in #tutorial6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear steemians, today I'm gonna show you how to restore your hazed headlights on your car.

Why my headlights gets too hazed?
It's caused by ultra violet light from the Sun. It attacks car headlights (made of plastic) and it makes them look like they have orange peal, it diffuses light.

I will show you simple steps so you can do this at home, so you don't have to pay worker to do that, and it sometimes can be so expensive.

Let's start about equipment what you need to have to make this happen:

  1. Sand paper for wet sanding (grid 600, 800, 1000, 1500) link to ebay
  2. Kit for polishing (with attachment for drill) link to ebay
  3. Roll of toilet paper (you can use also towel)
  4. Drill (I used battery drill)
  5. Car wax link to ebay
  6. Headlight polisher link to ebay
  7. Masking tape (you can use any masking tape)
  8. Water bottle with spray (or you can use bucket full of water)
  9. Cleaning alcohol (or window cleaner)

IMG_5753.JPG

This is how my headlights used to look like. They were hazed a lot, and I didn't get straight light at night.

IMG_5754.JPG

Let's start with process!

You need to prepare headlights by cleaning them with alcohol or window cleaner.

ezgif.com-optimize.gif

Make sure to use masking tape so you don’t damage your car.

My Video2.gif

After protecting it, start wet sanding process. First start with 600 grid, then 800 and on and on. But first you need to sand it by going with straight motion, not circular.

ezgif.com-optimize (2).gif

When you are satisfied with straight motion, then move over to circular motion of sanding.
You need to use a lot of water for sanding, never let it dry out!!!

My Video4.gif

Attach polishing kit with your drill (if you buy kit that I linked, you will get everything that you need except for drill, you need to buy it on your own)

My Video5.gif

Apply headlight polisher like I did, you don’t need a ton of polisher, just a little bit.

My Video7.gif

Before starting to polish, you need to clean up headlights with water and alcohol, then dry it up. After it is dried you can start with polishing, as you can see.

ezgif.com-optimize (1).gif

After about minute, your headlights will look like this. Don’t polish too much, because this sponge will heat up and you may melt plastic from your headlights.

My Video9.gif

Clean up with alcohol and wax it. After few minutes, you can clean wax and that is it.

My Video10.gif

This is result I got. You need about 15 minutes to do one headlight and results will be amazing + you will be saving your eyes during night rides. :)

My Video11.gif

IMG_5755.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, I hope it was helpful and easy. :)

Sort:  

Браво, @miroslavrc! Ала си га оправио, овде ни дугмићи нису остали! ;)

Hi miroslavrc,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Au majstore, svaka cast! Ko nova covece :)

Hvala veliko, potrudio sam se. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74