💕The Thai language. Lesson #3💕

in #tutorial5 years ago

Consonants

On my first lesson at school I was told that there were 44 consonants in the Thai language. Two of them (Khor Khuad and Khor Khon) are not used. Actually, they are used but only in special occasions as far as I understood. The first one might be used in temples, the second one in Royal names. Tell me if I am wrong.

image

The first important thing about the Thai consonants to be remembered is each letter is pronounced differently according to its position in the syllable.

There are two variants: it can be at the beginning of the syllable either at the end. So in order to choose a correct pronunciation you should divide a word into syllables and indicate the position of a consonant.

Let’s begin! For sounds I will be using the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA)

Gor Gai ก is pronounced as [g] if it is the first consonant of a syllable and as [k] if it is the final one.

Khor Khai ข [kh] and [k], respectively.

Khor Kwai ฃ has only one sound [k] independently of the position.

Khor RaKhang ฆ [k]

Ngor Nguu ง [ŋ]

Jor Jaan จ [dʒ][d]

Chor Chin น [tʃ][t]

Chor Chang ช [tʃ][t]

image

Sor So ฃ [s]\ - (I’m not sure if it can’t be used as the final consonant or it’s simply not pronounced)

Chor Cher ฌ [tʃ]\ - (same here)

Yor Ying ญ​ [j][n]

Dor ChaDaa ฎ [d] in both positions

Dtor PaDtak ฏ [dt][t]

Thor Than ฐ [th][t]

Tor MonTho ฑ [t]\ - (either…or… 😉)

Tho PuThao ฒ [t] in both positions

Nor Nen ฌ [n] in both positions

Dor Dek ค [d][t]

Dtor Dtao ต [dt][t]

Thor Thung ถ [th][d]

Tho TaHaan ท [t][d]

Thor Thong [t] in both positions

Nor Nuu น​ [n] in both positions

Bor BaiMai บ [b][p]

Por Plaa ป [bp][p]

Pho Phueng ผ [ph] (I think there is one sound for both positions)

For Far ฝ [f]\ -

Phor Phaan พ [p] in both positions

For Fun ฟ [f]\ -

Phor SamPao ถ​[p] in both positions

Mor Maa ม[m] in both positions

Yor yak ย [j][ai]

Ror Ruaa ร[r][n]

Lor Ling ล[l][n]

Wor Waen ว[w] in both positions

****Sor SaaLaa** ศ [s][d]

Sor RueSee ษ [s][d]

Sor Suaa ส [s][d]

Hor Heep ห [h]\ -

Lor JuLaa ฬ [l]\ -

Or Ang อ(it can be only the first one. Anyway, it’s not pronounced)

Hor NokHuug ฮ [h]\ -

Finally!🎉Oh my gosh! You even can't imagine how much time I needed to find the Thai letters😂 I hope I did it right:)

The thing I don’t understand is that the teacher uses the English letter (not sounds) to explain in what way we should pronounce something. Maybe my problem is that I am a teacher as well, and she simply does it differently. I will show you the example.

image

It might be a bit confusing. You see that Gor Gai is G, but you don’t know if it is [g] or [dʒ] because both of them are possible. Another example, Yor Yak is shown as Y and I. Again these letters can have different sounds. Y - [j] in the beginning of the word, [ai] if the syllable is open, [i] in the end of the word… Moreover, when learning vowels we get to know that Sara Ii is identified as I as well. But unlike the Yor Yak case where it is pronounces as [ai], in the Sara Ii case it is [i]. What?!

As for me, the right way is to use International Phonetic Alphabet. Of course, you need some time to get used to the symbols. But since you know them you can easily say how to pronounce any word correctly.

If there are some Thai teachers reading this, explain it to me, please. Is it a usual way of teaching? And I just need to accept it? 😜

P. S. Any advice and tips from Thai teachers and learners are welcome!

P. P. S. Unfortunately, I must admit that my English is getting worse and worse😫 I will appreciate if you point on my mistakes so I will have a chance to improve it:)

Have a good day!

💕Yours,
Наташа 💕

image

Sort:  

Are you learning here in Bangkok right now learning Thai language? :D
9lk2puivgm.png

In Pattaya :)

Posted using Partiko Android

When will you drop by here in Bangkok for some meetups?! 😁

Yes, we can arrange it:) Maybe you will be somewhere around Pattaya too😊

Uhmmm, I was there last month but, we could and I'll tell some of the Steemians around to join to! 😁

Great idea 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq


OMAG ..... how did you read all this... I had big eye when I look this :))))


Reading is difficult 😂 I almost lost my mind:)

Posted using Partiko Android


I lost my mind when I look it :))))


Can you imagine for some people it is an easy usual thing? :)

Posted using Partiko Android


YEs I can imagine... I am sure same people say same thing when they try learn Estonia :))))


You are right. Everything which is unknown and unusual seems to be difficult.

Posted using Partiko Android

100 % true :)))

Такие интересные буквы!

Не то слово 😊 пока напишешь или ещё хлеще пока на клавиатуре найдёшь... 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Клавиатура самое сложное, я тебя понимаю...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tata-natana from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77