30 for 30: The Nature Boy Ric Flair

in #tv6 years ago (edited)

I just watched the most beautiful documentary I have ever seen, and you should too if you can find it (it's not easy.)

We should keep in mind that I was an extremely dedicated wrestling fan in my youth (I try to get into what is going on today but i just cant) and I was growing up in Ric Flair's heyday. Therefore, I am not even ashamed to say that I cried twice during this doco. woooooooo!

v1vhgHl.jpg
Just incredible

I normally wouldn't make 4 posts in a day but I literally just finished watching this doco 4 minutes ago about the greatest wrestler of all time. It was beautifully filmed, the information is all there about the start, the middle, and even the dark times of this incredible wrestler.

39a14340a27d2b3dfad0030f645995ea--nwa-wrestling-wrestling-stars.jpg
back in the 80's... Ric giving a promo with Tony Shiavoni

When i was a kid I loved wrestling. We didn't have internet and we had to stay on top of the TV guide in order to see what time NWA (which later became WCW) would be coming on the TBS network. It was frustrating to be a fan of wrestling back in those times because sometimes (and I am certain they did this deliberately) the amount of time that the network had allotted for the broadcast would not be able to show the entire match and you would conveniently have to go to buy the magazine to find out the result (again, there was no internet in the 80's.)

Ric-Flair-1.jpg
Ric's robes, the real ones, sell for 10's of thousands of dollars online as collector's items

There was a time and i think i was like 12 years old or something and NWA came to my hometown, it was advertised in the newspaper and it was something like $14 to go see it and i didn't have enough money. I searched around the house for change, i offered to do chores for anything, tried to take out loans with my sisters, and cried until my Dad agreed to take me. He later told me (years later) that he was always going to take me, but just wanted to see me squirm and I laugh about that to this day.

Anyway, Ric Flair is the G.O.A.T. in professional wrestling (GOAT means "greatest of all time") and even if you don't like this sport you really aught to try to see this because dude went through a lot for the sport and is largely considered to be one of the main reasons (Hulk Hogan being the other) as to why this industry is worth billions today.

This was the first "30 for 30" episode that I had ever seen, and I will definitely be watching more of them because they are very well done. Way to go ESPN, that was magic!

Sort:  

When I saw your title, with Ric Flair, I was like YO! Wrestling!

I do agree that this guy along with a few other did shape the game into what we have today.
He is indeed a G.O.A.T in the field of wrestling

I also love these other guys: Shawn Michaels, Stone Cold Steve Austin and Hulk Hogan.

i never really cared much for Hogan, he was too "eat your vegetables, say your prayers, and listen to your parents" clean.... where as i preferred the "kiss-stealin', wheelin-dealing, jet-flyin, limosine ridin, whooo! son of a gun.

But yeah, i love HBK and the Texas Rattlesnake. :)

Hahahaha

I think they all just had their unique styles.

Andre The Giant fan here! Plus Macho Man Randy Savage. Love the Golden Era .. oh how I miss you guys. :-/

those were the best of wrestling times weren't they? I want to say that WWF must have been on cable or something because we didn't get those matches. I certainly would have watched them otherwise. We were still operating on the manually changed channels on an 800 lb television that once you parked it, that is where it stayed forever (and these things never broke either... what happened?)

However, you couldn't be alive in the 80's and not know who Andre and Savage were so yeah, I loved them too... just didn't get to see their matches often.

Another benifit of living so close to Atlantic City and Philly. They had matches here all the time and considerably cheaper than today even when considering inflation. Yea...anchor TV’s .. they never broke! Except when they were thrown at you by Andre!! Hehe. My first place we got a Sony TV (over paid) was heavy as S@&T. Took two of us struggling to get it up several flights of steps. I think we just left it in the apartment when we moved from there. Lol. Probably still there.

We should keep in mind that I am was a massive wrestling fan in my youth

Me too!!

When i was a kid I loved wrestling. We didn't have internet and we had to stay on top of the TV guide in order to see what time NWA (which later became WCW) would be coming on the TBS network.

Myself and siblings had to sneak late nights to the living room as well to watch wrestling as well. Smiles

Hulk Hogan was my best wrestler then really didn't always fall for Ric.

Anyway, Ric Flair is the G.O.A.T. in professional wrestling (GOAT means "greatest of all time") and even if you don't like this sport you really aught to try to see this because dude went through a lot for the sport and is largely considered to be one of the main reasons (Hulk Hogan being the other) as to why this industry is worth billions today.

You are very correct

We should keep in mind that I am was a massive wrestling fan in my youth (I try to get into what is going on today but i just cant)

Oh interesting, it was some real fights, real honorable fights then but now if I watch wrestling, it seems like a staged play {act} to me .
Aww really , you did shed tears ?
That was incredible, you really loved this Ric for you to have shed tears, I need to see the documentary

of course wrestling is fake. That is obvious to anyone that isn't a child, but it is (or was, i don't like it today) entertaining.

Lmao, yes it is ... maybe less fake in the past than now lmao

I've never been a pro wrestling fan, because I like my sports to at least be somewhat realistic, but I can always enjoy a good biography piece. I'll keep an eye out for it. Thanks for the lead.

Along these same lines, there is a great little biodrama on Netflix called "Eddie the Eagle" about a British nobody, who rose from nothing to become a pretty fair ski jumper and the best Britain has probably ever had in that particular sport. Very heart warming, and decently acted...

I remember another local pal of mine mentioning that film in the recent past. i will check it out. Thanks for the tip. :)

It's probably not like a multi-Oscar thing or anything, but not a waste of an evening either...

well Ric Flair isn't going to win an Emmy anytime soon and i still love that! It's on my list in pencil,,,, that means it WILL happen. haha

LOL....very good...

I totally agree with you Ric Flair is one of the most complete wrestlers, I would like to see the documentary too, I imagine all his career that was impeccable, even his daughter (Charlotte) is a very good fighter, inheriting everything from her father. When I read the wooooo part! I could only imagine the way he does it hahahaha. I love watching free fights, believe me I would have also cried because they took me, so I understand you. I really liked that you shared this.

Hiii dear i just want to watch this .. can you give the 720p link ...?

THE KING! 16 times world champion, deserves a statue is a legend, like forgetting Dusty Rhodes, André the Giant, Larry Hennig and Wahoo McDaniel.
Every time I read or listen to Ric Flair, I only think about the fight with Jack Veneno, a Dominican Republic fighter. EPIC

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88