American Horror Story - Cult (Netflix series) : Interesting take on horror

in #tv5 years ago

I would be willing to bet that you have heard of American Horror Story as it has been around for a while. The first season was epic, and then they kind of lost me. Purely out of boredom I decided to give "Cult" a go. So far I haven't been disappointed and find it pretty good.

american-horror-story-cult-season-7-1-home.jpg
source
If that image is disturbing to you, you might suffer from Trypophobia... i do

The reason why I like this season of AHS as opposed to ones in the past that I really didn't care for (especially the really bizarre "Freak Show" series) is because they approach a type of horror that is actually kind of relatable in modern times: Political Hysteria.

The very first episode takes place on election night and it features a liberal election party where the attendees lose their damn minds when it is announced that Trump wins... they even immediately start to turn on one-another after hearing the bad news.

american-horror-story-cult-trailer.jpg

On the flip side of the equation, they have rabid Trump supporters becoming super-excited over the victory, one person who actually "humps" his television in the dark and then rubs cheese puffs all over his face to rub it in towards his ultra-liberal sister or roommate (I can't determine how they are related or why they are in the same house)


source

For someone like me, that thinks that people have truly gone off the deep end politically in the past couple of years, this is an extremely funny side story of sorts to take place in the show. The underlying horror is actually about a cult of people that dress as clowns and kill people, but honestly, this takes a back seat to the political overtones of the show.


source

The political characters are completely over-the-top, and there are some SJW's out there that are ironically protesting that "their side" is depicted in the way that it is but to a normal sane person I think they are obviously caricatures of the most extreme members of the political masses out there. American Horror Story doesn't choose a side in this one as they make fun of both sides pretty equally and in my mind that is what makes it entertaining. They aren't preaching to us, they are simply pointing the finger and suggesting that anyone involved as an extreme activist is equally ridiculous - and I definitely agree with that.

Don't get me wrong, American Horror Story (really any of them, but this included) is not a ground-breaking show nor is it something that is terribly good. I feel as though this season is considerably less bad than the ones in the past simply because they chose to infuse the absurd politics of today into the overall theme. That part of it, if you have an open mind, is extremely entertaining. Plus, you know, clowns are scary anyway.

Sort:  

I watched the first 2 seasons and liked them despite I found the ending both times kind of meeh.

The one where Kathy Bates plays a bearded woman whose character we are supposed to take seriously was just odd. Mostly I fell out with this series but "Cult" is worth a look if for no other reason than for the caricature of political enthusiasts that are oh so many Americans these days.

I thought the first two seasons were okay. I actually watched all of them until this one I think. The one before this kind of lost me part way through and I just couldn't get on board with it at all. There were so many ground breaking pieces in the first one that really just blew your mind as you were watching it. I doubt I will go back and pick this one up. There are too many other things for me to watch now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16