Family guy touches on border control issue

in #tv5 years ago

I love Family Guy. It is my go to "just before bedtime" show that i watch on a tiny screen while i am in bed. I am starting to get worried because I am getting close to the end of the available episodes and I don't really care for any of the other shows that are similar to FG.


source

One of the main things that i enjoy about this show is that while they do touch base with controversial subject matter in relation to current political climate, they don't get preachy and don't appear to even have an opinion. I think this is very wise on their part because doing so would be a fantastic way to give what has become a very sensitive population a reason to boycott you.

Anyway, the episode I watched last was not necessarily about "The Wall" but it touched base on it and no, they did not have an opinion, didn't get preachy, and didn't try to change anyone's mind, but they did have one very small scene that was both funny and also kind of made you think about if what they were saying is true or not.


source

In the episode Chris meets a woman at a water park who it turns out is from Mexico and she gets deported half way through the episode. Peter, Lois, and Chris end up traveling down there to find her to bring her kids back to her.

It is kind of funny to me the way that Family Guy can get away with poking fun at Mexico being a "little less than desirable" place to live and no one even bats an eye. I am extremely happy that they don't because I am so fed up with everything becoming a SJW tirade of sorts. I am sure there is someone on Youtube complaining about it, I dunno. I'm not gonna look.


source

Toward the end of the episode after they have been robbed by the Mexican police and have run out of food and water, they are rescued by Conseula in her car.


source
just in case you forgot who Consuela is

The moment comes when Peter (it might have been Quagmire) says, "Consuela, can you sneak us back into America?" and she replies "Oh you already United State.... This Texas."

And Quagmire addresses the 4th wall by saying something along the lines of "What? We wandered across the border and didn't even know it, I mean politics aside we have to admit, this IS a problem" I thought it was tasteful, and didn't take sides and this is exactly the sort of thing I love about Family Guy. They didn't try to convince anyone of anything and at the same time it is humorous.

I was surprised to see it and in the end I don't really care enough to look to see if it is actually true because Family Guy is a cartoon... a very entertaining cartoon that I never tire of and am going to be very disappointed when I reach the end of the available episodes.

Sort:  

I was devastated when I ran out of available FG episodes to watch.. I'm like you, I'm NOT interested in the countless family-guy-esque shows out there..
Hopefully they release a new season on Netflix soon, as it's soo easy to binge-watch before bed!

I discovered Family Guy about a year ago and I'm currently binge watching all seasons on Hulu. It's brilliant and I think it's aimed primarily at my age group. I saw the episode above and loved it!

They really do deport people without their children though. How is that funny? Have a quick look

Yep, crazy situation this is. It is certainly a complicated conundrum with no easy answers. I think this is why Family Guy didn't really try to address the issue or attempt to indoctrinate anyone or offer solutions - they are in the entertainment industry, not the political one. I personally wish that a lot of other Hollywood types would take the same approach.

Have good watch.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool whip

Posted using Partiko Android

My wife hates Family Guy, but I enjoy watching it from time to time. Like the Simpsons before it, they do a great job of satirizing pretty much everything and getting away with it. There is literally nothing they can't poke fun at in a way that isn't over obnoxious or offensive. Okay maybe mildly offensive. I think part of the reason my wife hates it is because she has kids at school watching it and I agree that there are a lot of things on the show that kids don't need to be seeing or hearing. I blame the parents for that though, not the kids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99