Porridge Revisited

in #tv5 years ago

p03cw9d3.jpg

I've just watched the first episode of the old BBC sitcom Porridge on Netflix. For those of you outside the UK or not watching TV in the mid-seventies, yes it's a situation comedy about prison, which doesn't necessarily sound like much fun, but it's hilarious.

I found myself laughing a lot more than I expected. The jokes are old and I heard them all in 1974 but they're delivered with such skill and perfect timing by Ronnie Barker and Richard Beckinsale that some are as fresh as the day they were written.

It's odd seeing something so familiar and recognising how much the world has changed. Also stuff that went right over my head as a ten-year-old.

I'm going to bed with a chuckle.

Sort:  

Great show and I come from the same town as Ronnie Barkers co-star.
We recently commissioned an artist to honour him and some others who originate from Beeston.
Photo27_27.jpg

and yet they made him do a West Midlands accent (ropily) presumably because Smethwick sounds funnier than Beeston or Bramcote :)

You gotta love a brummy accent! Unfortunately we just sound either common or posh in my neck of the woods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70