#13 TV shows: Desperate Housewives - Number 13 is unlucky.....

in #tv6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

I promised to give you a review of a TV Show I don’t especially love, so here I am, to be honest I almost love everything but then, it depends on what kind of show you want to see. This review might sound a little bit negative, but I am going to try to be as neutral as possible ;)

desperate-housewives-saison-7-deux-episodes-image-394428-article-thumb.jpg
source Desperate Housewives

Let’s talk about a good TV Show, just not my taste : Desperate Housewives.
Well, well, well… Please don’t agrees me, I told you I will present a TV Show I don’t like, not a bad TV Show!
Actually I can even say that when I disconnect my brain, I can watch an episode entire before realizing I am watching Desperates Housewives!
But let’s be honest, this series has been a huge hit for ABC, it has everything people just love, and especially everything women love in a show: love, hate and treason.
This TV Show started in 2004 and ended in 2012.

This TV series show us the movement life of four ladies: Susan Mayer, Bree Van de Kamp, Lynette Scavo and Gabrielle Solis. They all live in Wisteria Lane, a cosy neighborhood of Fairview in Eagle State, a fictional State. It is more or less the perfect stereotype of american middle-class society. In this perfect little world, a drama takes place right at the beginning: Mary Alice Young, a friend of the four women cited before, suicide herself in the very first episode. She comments from her tomb the huge panel of intrigues happening all over Wisteria Lane. Humor, drama and mysteries will shake the four women lives.
Then in the following season other desperate housewives will join them such as Edie Britt, a man eater and manipulator, Katherine Mayfair, a housewife with blurred past, or Renee Perry, a rich divorcee.

I am going to be honest with you, if I begin with all main actors, I will pass three or four day talking about them with no interruption. I am going to focus my description on the four main characters to my eyes, the four housewives: Susan, Bree, Lynette and Gabrielle. In fact each and every story revolves around them and they are the most important roles in the show anyway ;)

Teri Hatcher, aka Susan Mayer the love problem

Qu-est-devenue-Teri-Hatcher-de-Desperate-Housewives.jpg
source Desperate Housewives

She is the most important character to my eyes, probably my favorite one. She started as a single mom raising her daughter after a rude divorce. She suffers depression for a long long time where she only consecrated her life to her daughter Julie.
She is the clumsy one, Everything can happen to her, even locked outside of her house, completely naked without keys… Yeah you will see this aspect of her life really quickly in the show… It never stops ;)
As an actress, there are not much to say about Teri Hatcher, her career talks for herself. She play in so many movies and TV Show, that the list would be nearly endless. You can see her performance in movies such as Tango and Cash, Brainsmasher, All Tied up Dead Girl Spy kids or planes. And on TV Show, even more impressive like Loveboat (I will definitely do a review of this one) MacGyver Star Trek, Seinfeld, Smallville or My uncle Charlie, and of course Lois and Clark the new adventure of superman, her second longtime soap role.

Marcie Cross, the incredible clean and mysterious Bree Van de Kamp

9bcfr5eq.jpg
source Desperate Housewives

She began the TV Show while married to the doctor Rex Van de Kamp, and has two childs, Andrew and Danielle. She comes from a good and wealthy family, and was undoubtedly marked as a child by her tragic mother death in a car accident, while she was ten years old. Her father then remarried with a woman called Eleanor Mason, whose education changed everything in Bree’s mind. She was only supported when she accomplished a very good action, earning by merit shall we say.
One thing we have to know about bree is that she is the perfect WASP woman, republican and member of the National Rifle Association, that tells a lot about the character and her stiffness.
In real life, Marcie Cross was put under the lights with Melrose Place where she played the role of Kimberly Shaw. She did quite a few movies, but mainly played role in TV Shows like Melrose Place, West Coast, Spin City, Profiler and many others.

Felicity Huffman, as Lynette Scavo, the mother

desperate-housewives-dvd-s1-felicity-huffman-lynette-scavo-003-dvdbash.jpg
source Desperate Housewives

The character of Lynette became a mother early in her life, because of an alcoholic mom she had to take care of her two younger sisters. She hates violence in all its ways, and that is maybe the reason why she is a little bit too laxist with her children. Talking about children, she is the « happy » mother of four childs, Porter and Preston, parker and Penny.
The whole story of the character is also forged by the fact that she was a big deal in an advertising agency, a shark and killer.
Felicity began her career at sixteen years old and played in many many different movies and TV Show, like House Hunting, Fashion mummy, Transamerica or TV Shows like Sport Night, Frasier or American Crime.

Eva Longoria, last but not least… Gabrielle Solis

eva-longoria-dh-promo2-4453255buizz.jpg
source Desperate Housewives

Shhhhhh Eva… I proposed to her once, but she never replied to me :(
Well to make things short, the character of Gabrielle Solis is coming from Mexico, she was a model and married Carlos Solis, for lo… money… Well the love of money shall we say!
Right from the beginning, you can see her having an affair with her young and beautiful gardener. This relationship will be discovered by her mother in law but this last one died before being able to reveal anything at anyone.
Eva Longoria… Do we have to present her again? She played in many movies since the years 2000, but was really revealed to the public eyes in the young and the restless during almost 150 episodes. She was married to the basketball player Tony Parker, I even went to see her wedding in Paris, and was crying because she said no to my proposal :( JK ;)

Well Desperate Housewives is not my cup of tea with any doubts. But I can’t say neither that it is a bad TV Show cause it is not at all. I think that it really has a large public that can have a great interest to his show, the reason? You will have everything we all love… Seeing other people in love, hating and suffering… Mankind is lost !!! :)

Cheers,
Mangou
unnamed.png

Sort:  

Luck 7 and unlucky 13 has lot of debate

Ha ha nice contravarcy show...

I hate this show, but thanks for the indepth look at all the characters!

That was the purpose, don’t like the show neither... first review on something I am not a total fan

Good post ! The lady pictures are gogeous. The lesson from the story is quite informative. I follow and upvote you. pls do same for me.

you like film?

Hey nice to meet you, I am also new here :)
your description sounds really nice and fun haha
I won't deny it I don't know a lot about Vietnam and as you mentioned most people think about war when Vietnam comes to their minds. I am happy that Steemit gives us the chance to connect to people all around the world and to get deeper into other cultures than the usual stereotypes. I am really excited to read more about you and your country !

I think this show is the best honesty show

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10