Reading Kafka and Writing Fiction

in #twbbookclub6 years ago (edited)

This month at #bookclub organised on @thewritersblock we decided to read short stories by Franz Kafka. Kafka is an author that has always been dear to me, having visited a museum about his life when I was in Prague. Yet I never read a lot of his books, although what I read of his was always very interesting and kept me occupied for days after I finished reading it.

I decided to read some of his short stories. Many of them can be found online, and I went and read quite a couple of them in the original German (which can be found here). (For English version, this pdf is very nice). Reading someone in their original language is valuable beyond measure, I think. Especially for someone like Kafka, who spent a LOT of time on his stories, often reworking them for years.

But as I read on, and read some reviews & articles about certain stories, I realised I was reading only a very small part of what he was saying. So much was going on that I couldn’t get. It left me dazzling, and really made me doubt about my own ability as a writer of fiction… would I ever be able to give my stories so much depth and meaning?

Kafka.jpg

Picture from pixabay

Story ‘Being Unhappy’

In the end I went for a very short story, called ‘Unglucklichsein’ (here in English translation) which was a story that spoke to me from the first words. But why did I like it, I wondered? Perhaps because it is similar to the kind of stories I like to write… In which nothing really happens, but the smallest things make a difference. It is much more a story about someone’s character and how he deals with deep feelings, instead of a story filled with action and decisions. Somehow I’m more and more attracted by stories like that.

Another thing I liked was the twist. Not one with confetti and trumpets, but subtle and one that leaves you want to read that whole story again, wondering how you could have missed this! The twist however was a nice addition, it wasn’t something the story needed per se to be a good story. Which to me shows that this story was a good combination of strengths: both using character building to keep the reader into reading, and a good plot to hook you.

Writing

Part of #bookclub at @thewritersblock is writing about what you read… This time I decided to not write a non-fiction piece, but try my hand on fiction based on something I was inspired to by reading Kafka. So I did. It took me a long time to figure out what to write, but I used the story as a prompt, you could say.

And I ended up really happy with the result. I based my story on my own experiences while living in Shanghai, something which I have strong feeling towards, but which I have not yet written about before. So it was a nice experience discovering I could write about that time and those experiences.

But I liked the story so much, that I will keep working on it more and then try to publish it somewhere mainstream. Steem is great, but things you work on a lot deserve a place where their worth is recognised better or maybe differently. Trying to venture out in new domains, scary, but also worth to try.

I hope.

@nobyeni.png

Here an overview of more fiction/short stories and poetry by @nobyeni.

Sort:  

Kafka is a strange case. I love reading him. His writing is so interesting that it doesn't really matter if nothing happens!

And you rarely understand what happens. And like much art that is hard to comprehend, I worry a lot of projection might be going on with those reviewers and/or critics you mentioned.

Then again, they might offer compelling arguments for their interpretation, I wouldn't know. But in stories like Kafka's, you can read in them quite a lot that may or may not be there.

What's the story's (Unglücklichsein) title in English, so I can find it?

Yes, this ability to be engaging even though it's unclear what happens, and things changes in the blink of an eye without the reader noticing, somehow - that is really genius.

The story is 'Unhappiness,' available here.

Just read it. It's not the Kafka I remember. Must be one of his earlier stories maybe. It does benefit greatly from a second reading! I was trying to guess what was happening the first time I read it, but failed. The second time things become much clearer.

I would say that even though nothing much happens in the story itself, in the traditional sense anyway, but things happen in the reader, who slowly comes to realize certain things, and even get a kind of creepy feeling maybe like an Edgar Poe story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75