Alienated

in #twentyfourhourshortstory6 years ago (edited)


Source

Prologue

"It was Brenden." my older brother pointed at me and said.

"Brenden did you scare your little little sister with a story about alien invasion again? Mom asked, disappointment in her eyes.

I love making up stories and Linny, my little sister, was listening to them yesterday. But then she took them literally and now I'm grounded.


Twenty years have passed and I find myself finally penning down what happened that day. I have spoken about it over the years only to be laughed at and ridiculed. But the day remains clearly etched in my mind. The world might consider it the stories of a seven year old but I know what happened that day changed humanity.


Twenty years ago

It had been thrilling at first, when two men had transformed into glowing, translucent versions of humans before our very eyes. The lady next to me screamed, Linny had fainted. I had just looked in wonder.

They were like humans but had a luminescence about them. The eyes were like deep quicksand. One of them spoke, his english was stilted. He might have been taken for a foreigner.

"Relax, you won't feel a thing." He said and there was a hissing sound. A gas was being leaked. All the lights were out. I'd seen the air hostess point to an oxygen mask. I reached for it. When it all stopped , I mimicked the others and pretended to unconscious.

I could see wisps coming out of people's brains. The aliens spoke a dialect , I didn't understand.

The last thing I remember was the plane plummeting.

When I woke up,I was still clutching my Rory the Royal Robot backpack. I looked around, people were beginning to stir. The plane was slowly drowning in the ocean. I wonder if the aliens had wanted it that way. It will be hard for all of us to explain what happened. All evidence was on that plane.

My mother looked at me, "where are we Brenden?". Everyone was looking confused, disoriented. Mom didn't remember who dad was, Linny had forgotten about mom, people were trying to make sense of it.

I told my story to mom first. She looked at me pityingly, "Brenden, now is not the time, I think people are suffering from memory loss."

Seven year old me was stubborn, I wanted to be heard. But nobody believed me. I told them about the plane. They asked where the crew was. I had no answer. I think the aliens took them away. Or were the crew aliens?

Later, when the plane was fished out of the sea, it was thought to be an act of terrorism. The trauma led to Amnesia.

As I grew up, I became obsessed with Amnesia and concluded that the event on the plane could not have led to mass amnesia and selective memory loss.

The world ignores that which it cannot understand.

I have been alienated, pun intended.

But I realized that aliens took away human memories that day.

I have made a careful study and presented it.

Nobody is ready to believe there are aliens among them. I think as I turn on my luminescence.

Sort:  

I have been alienated, pun intended.

Your story was really good. Out of this world.

Thanks Matt, always thought you were an alien

I was just going to post a sci-fi piece with that very same pic! Great minds think alike

I'm sure yours would be very different.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Very nice! I was already wondering why he was immune to the memory-loss... nicely done. I love the ending!

Congratulations @diebitch! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Cool story. I wonder what happened, why were the aliens there... what were they doing....??

This comment will self destruct in 321

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87