Need to put a pause on the Twenty-four Short Contest for the time being

in #twentyfourhourshortstory5 years ago (edited)

Thanks everyone!

I've been doing the Twenty-four hour short story contest for over a year.  I did it for the fun of it, and the chance to connect with other writers.  When I started it, Steem was around $5 so I was giving away $25 to the winners.   @curie supported the contest for a long time, but they are not involved anymore, and I don't make enough steem back to make it profitable.

But at the moment, personal issues are keeping me from keeping a regular posting schedule as I've always done or are needed for a contest.

I've met a lot of great Steemians over the year.  There are too many to list here and I would be afraid that I would miss someone.

I will still be on Steemit, but the regularity of the contest I need to put aside for awhile.

{Edit--I forgot to add @oivas post for the last contest. It was the only one that week, because I had disappeared for awhile.  But check it out.}

Sort:  

Hey @McTiller, I totally understand you need to quit - for a while, or maybe forever. But I just wanted to let you know I think this was an amazing contest, because of the way it was set-up. For a long time I looked out for the regular Sunday prompts, knowing I'd write a story for it on Monday/Tuesday. It really helped me as a writer, and even though I'm working now on longer projects that made this contest impossible for me the last couple of months, I do want to thank you for organising it.

All the best!

Thank you. It was great to connect with you because of the contest!

@mctiller these contests got me writing again. Seriously, thanks for hosting them. Your years worth of work contributed a hell of a lot to this platform.

All the best

Thanks! Connecting with you because of the contest was a great benefit. I will still be on the platform, but promising to be here every Sunday night or any night, I can't do for awhile.

Take all the time you need

A real shame, but best you look after yourself!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I'm glad the contest meant something to people.

I'm very sorry to see it go. I enjoyed seeing it around and was proud of the one or two stories it inspired me to write. Sometimes you don't know what you got til it's gone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @mctiller!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.849 which ranks you at #1324 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 173 contributions, your post is ranked at #97.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @mctiller!

You just got a 0.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12