Breakfast 01 - Penang Char Kuay Teow

in #ublog6 years ago (edited)

As my regular breakfast routine, I went to my regular shop to look for my kuay teow tung but it was not open for business. Out of no choice8 ordered a plat of Penang char kuay teow instead.

Char Kuay teow is not my preferred food for breakfast but I do take it once a while. This elderly lady ( I believed she is 60+ years old ) has been managing the char kuay teow stall for many years. I could not remember the exact number of years but I have have seen her many years ago.

This lady is skinny but looks healthy. She smokes a cigarette when no customer takes any orders. I have seen her buffing away cigarette together with the kuay teow tung lady seller too.

Image Source

Talking about the char kuay teow, it is one of my favorite food when I worked in Penang from 1988 till 1994. During those years in Penang, char kuay teow is one of the popular food in hawker stalls or Coffee shops. In fact, the way it is prepared is somewhat special and it delicious too. A Tourist from outside Penang often looks for char kuay teow for street food. In fact, there are several popular char kuay teow stalls patronize by most tourists. One of them is the sister's char kuay teow at the Macalister road, and the other is at Lorong Selamat in Georgetown. Both the stalls charge Rm10 per plate, more than double of those sold in a coffee shop but their businesses are very good.

Image Source

Out of curiosity, I tested the char kuay teow once at the sister's, stall, it serves extra topping with crab meat plus the prawn is bigger in size and the taste is above average. But then, it is not worth the extra money you pay for if you live in Penang. However, as a tourist, it still considers value for money. As for the stall at Jalan Selamat, the preparation is somewhat the same but without crab meat. It is also priced at Rm10

Anyway, I consider fortunate to live in Subang Jaya where the amenities around this township is adequate and choices of food are abundant with a different price range.

After I have eaten the char kuay teow this morning, I will normally take a couple of minutes to browse through my smartphone for WhatsApp, wechat, and discord. then only I will order my regular glass of "teh si", a mixture of coffee and red tea with only evaporated milk and without sugar.

This is how I spend my morning breakfast. Mind to share yours?

This post is written by @DigitalMind

Note:

If you are really a fan of Penang Char Kuay Teow, Click Here to read some reviews by a website on Penang Char Kuay Teow

Disclaimer

  • Photos are taken by @digitalmind with his ASUS smartphone.
  • Names of stalls mentioned are meant for information only. Use as your own discretion

follow

Sort:  

Congratulations @digitalmind! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09