UFC 229 Results and thoughts on the Main Card

in #ufc5 years ago

a.jpg

I was not able to do my round by round breakdowns because I have vertigo so I will give you a summary of my thoughts.

  • Khabib Nurmagomedov (c) def. Conor McGregor via third-round submission to retain the lightweight title

I was so disappointed in that Conor showed no patience and movement. He should have kept the fight at long range and look to snipe Khabib. Khabib is a monster on the ground. Nuff said.

  • Tony Ferguson def. Anthony Pettis via second-round TKO (stoppage, broken hand)

I think Tony is the one to beat Khabib. He will be able to cut Khabib up from his back. If you look closely at the in fighting Tony was using his work on the Wing Chun dummy on Pettis. I was so impressed by his trapping and short slicing elbows.

  • Dominick Reyes def. Ovince Saint Preux via unanimous decision (30-27, x 3)

Dominick Reyes is for real. He needs to work on his cardio.

  • Derrick Lewis def. Alexander Volkov via third-round TKO

The Black Beast is a monster. The 4 from out of nowhere was amazing. If he had cardio he would be the Heavyweight Champ.

  • Michelle Waterson def. Felice Herrig via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-28, 30-27)

Michelle looked to tiny against Felice but she put on a technical performance. Her kicks were beautiful. I don't believe she has the size, or the power, to challenge for the title. I wish she did as she is one of my favorite fighters.

  • Jussier Formiga def. Sergio Pettis via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Vincente Luque def. Jalin Turner via first-round TKO (punches)
  • Aspen Ladd def. Tonya Evinger via first-round TKO (punches)
  • Scott Holtzman def. Alan Patrick via third-round TKO (elbows)
Sort:  

I was also disappointed with Conor's strategy, as you said he should have kept his distance but instead he actually made it easy for Khabib. He actually did well to stop some takedowns too and also minimise damage taken when Khabib was on top of him but yet again his poor cardio meant he was helpless in the later rounds.

The Ferguson/Pettis fight was incredible, Tony is a freak of nature and so brilliant to watch. I do hope that one day we get to see him and Khabib fight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87