Making Soap For @bluefinstudios Ulog 3

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

More Fun in the Kitchen


After talking to @bluefinstudios about product names a few weeks ago, I've been excited about making a male fragrance soap. I've been waiting for a pretty blue mica to arrive so I could colour it. It came the other day so I immediately started to cook up a batch.

First measuring out the tallow I had rendered previously.

IMG_1029.JPG

Then adding cocoa butter, coconut oil, olive oil, and a little canola oil to the pan and melting it all together over a low heat.
I made up this recipe after try many others and not liking how they felt on my skin. After a few failed attempts I have come up with a recipe I am really happy with.
I love this blend of oils and will never buy soap from the supermarket again.

IMG_1034.JPG

I measured out 150mls of water and adding the lye to it carefully.
When making soap you should really use a lye calculator to make sure you add the right amount of water and lye.
This mixture gets very hot so you need to be careful, you need to wear gloves just in case you splash, and you should do it in a ventilated space as the lye gives off fumes which you don't want to breath in.

IMG_1035.JPG

Once the oils are melted, let both mixtures cool to the same temperature, between 100 and 115 F.
Add the lye mixture to the oils, add fragrance and whiz it up together.
At this stage I added the blue mica mixed in a little almond oil to the whole batch then poured about 3/4 of the batch in to a mold. I then added more blue mica to the remaining mix and swirled it hoping to get a cool effect. I poured that part on top of the first colour then added a little more mica to the top and swirled again.

Sorry I got too engrossed in what I was doing to take pictures of the whole process.

Here is the new BlueFin Men's Soap ....


IMG_1036.JPG

I liked how it looked when it came out. The swirls kinda look like waves....

IMG_1047.JPG

My daughter is here at the moment and she helped me cut the bars this morning..... She says that it smells amazing and wants it for herself.

Now I have to wait for ages for it to cure but I am happy with the finished product.

Thanks for stopping by...

Sort:  

So pretty! The name suits it as well!

Thanks :D It really does!! I was quite impressed with my little swirls :)

That soap looks so lovely! I make a lot of my own household items.. soap funnily enough is not one of them but I might have to give it a go... thanks for the inspiration

Thanks :) It was quite scary to begin with but now it's nice and easy. What other products do you make?

you really did an amazing job, Andy!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 6.06% upvote!
I was summoned by @newbiegames. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Very healthy soap, very smart from your side, also the design and the blue color are amazing that is the final touch!!*****

Thank you - I love the blue also - such a nice colour :)

I think I saw a fin or two in the blue waves. Nice work @andysantics48

Hehehe it does kinda look like fins doesn't it :) Thanks for dropping by @shadowspub :)

That looks awesome - I'm keen to try some.

Your new skin creme is really good too.

Thanks @sift666 you will love it :) I'm glad you're liking the healing balm :)

i want some too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this is the MOST beautiful soap i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!! oh my gosh - first of all - blue. BLUE. and WAVES!!!!! (go read the post I just submitted if you want to see my obsession with the ocean and waves and blue and all that!) hehehehe

I DON'T EVEN CARE IF IT SMELLS LIKE MEN'S SOAP!!!!
i neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeed it!!!!!!!!!!!

HEHEHEHEHE

and @bluefinstudios needs to do a giveaway - so that i can enter - and win.
hahahahahahahahahahaha

so awesome Andygirl!!!! you are really stepping up your game girlie!!!!

Hehehe you're so funny @dreemsteem. You would really love it dreem - even if it's men soap it smells soo good!!

Lovely product Andy. Looks smart with the blue waves. I can almost smell the amazing fragrance from here. 😊

Hey @redheadpei - how are you? Thanks - I do love the waves.... and the smell hehe

Welcome Andy. I am well and enjoying the summer. You are busy, creative and talented- making all these soaps and drawings. Is there anything you can’t turn your hand to? 😊 ❤️ Keep steeming dear friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85