ULOG #04: I'M OFFERING A HELPING HAND

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

I went to a funeral today. Just this day, I found out that Nanay Alicia... son has died due to unknown cause.

Who is Nanay Alicia?

Nanay Alicia is 65 years old BHW (Barangay Health Worker) who has been serving the community for 12 years. Her duty as a BHW involves assisting me during immunization and implementing basic health services. This elderly is one of the most responsible and hardworking workers I ever known. Whenever she is get asked for a survey from the Barangay Council, she would perform her duties despite of old age. For a couple of months we have been together at work, I got to tell a lot of qualities she possesses.

She had been through a lot of hardships in her family’s problems. Her sons and in-laws don’t have much for a living. It turned out that she is the one who is supporting her grand sons from the little honorarium she receives as being a Barangay Health Worker

Just this morning, I went to the funeral took place in her house where her son also resided. I was so moves deeply upon seeing her weeping in tears.

Since it has been a culture here in philippines to offer some food or snacks to the visitors present at the funeral, it is therefore expected of them. However they don’t have any money to provide all of that especially for her dead son’s coffin and funeral expenses.

As soon as I headed out from the funeral, I’ve come to think of how I can help to Nanay Alicia.

I decided to contribute some of the funeral expenses such as food and drinks. I headed out to a grocery store to buy those items. And used my money for it.

I’m not only doing this for pity but also I felt such empathy for Nanay Alicia. It mush have been hard to be in her shoes. Both felt the grief of losing her son and the misery of not have much for the expenses.

I sought help to @rachelrach25. I successfuly pulled it off because she was around. She was able to help me with the carrying all those food and grocery items to the Nanay.

After a while, we went to approach her.

Then upon seeing me arrived, she ran to me teary eyed and full of mixed emotions. We talked about some serious things about the details of his death in a room.

As I handed over to her all the food I bought for the funeral discreetly, she hugged me and burst in tears.

It always feels so good to help people in many ways like Nanay Alicia without expecting something in return. I think this is my nature. This is my attitude towards life.

Sort:  

Condolence to the family of Nanay Alicia and you are good annesaya...
@surpassinggoogle you tube channel

thanks @sweetcha for your sympathy :D Anyways , thanks also for posting sir terry's video. I appreciate it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20