ULOG: Would you do anything for money?

in #ulog6 years ago

So, I was having a really good day. And I'm talking about really good. Everything was going as planned which doesn't happen that often. Until when my father came back home from work.

Now my father is someone who has been using public transport for quite a long time now. Ever since he got the job where he is now, he's been using public transport. And that's about 30 odd years. And the public transport here is really really pathetic. In a bus that can accommodate 40, there will be atleast a minimum of 90 people in every trip. Now my dad could've easily bought a vehicle for himself in all these years but he didn't, because he didn't want to use any of his money for personal comfort. All he has done throughout his life is spending money to fulfill his family's needs. And I'm really proud and thankful of him for that.

image
So he's really smart in public places and has seen all kinds of people. He knows how to deal with people. But yesterday, while he was in a jam packed bus going to the office, he got robbed. A group of four pickpocketers surrounded him in the bus, and before he would know, all his money was gone. He only realised what had happened and who did it after he got down from the bus. The damage was huge. Unfortunately, he was taking some savings to the bank and these guys robbed him off almost two months worth of his salary. You can only imagine the frustration of a man who works more than 12 hours a day only to get two months worth of his salary robbed off him. I felt really bad for him. Because I know how much he must be cursing himself in his mind, even though it wasn't his fault.

image
This incident, however made me start thinking. Is the society really this bad? What if they rob someone who is really poor and has worked all month so that he could pay his kid's school fees only to go home and see his salary is gone. Why is it so difficult for some people to work hard on their own and earn money instead of robbing other people?

image
I don't know if there is a solution to this problem. I was wondering if UBI could help. Providing a Universal Basic Income to all might reduce these cases. Because at the end of the day, these thieves are also doing what they're doing to get a day's meal. That's the only thing I can think of. If you think there is anything else that can be done to solve this problem, feel free to suggest.

Sort:  

Comment deleted.

I respect your opinion but I can't agree with it. For me, if something is wrong, it's wrong. I understand that at the end of the day, even a thief is doing whatever he's doing for food, shelter and clothing. But that doesn't mean you take up that as a profession.

And you mentioned the rich looting us, I'm with you. They are legally robbing us. They are the bigger problem.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hi, thanks for stopping by and taking part in my contest.

You won an upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00