Ulog #8: The Irony of Keeping My Sanity

in #ulog6 years ago

I felt sore the whole day today after the accident I had while playing with the kiddos last night. Oh well, age is catching up fast and my body cannot cope up. lol.

It was the first work day of the week and I felt so tired very early. Whew! I actually wanted to call sick.

However, I looked forward for Iftar (dinner when Muslims break their fast during Ramadan) to catch up with dearies... so, I somehow made it through the day.

Kuzbara Retaurant, Marriott Hotel

We agreed to meet at Marriott Hotel Downtown Abu Dhabi at around 5:00pm though Iftar would only start at 7:00(ish). It gave us enough time to chit chat and catch up after several weeks of not seeing each other, even being silent on the group chats.

We were literally the first to come and we chose to sit near the main course buffet. Actually, we were initially given seats at the end part of the restaurant but we asked to be transferred.😉

Best seats are next to the main base! Bwahahaha!

Dates for breaking fast.

In Islam, they break their fast (not consuming food nor water from day break to sun down) by eating dates, as what Prophet Mohammad did.It is also good as it replenishes the body with lost sugars in the blood from fasting.

From fasting to feasting.

We were also hoping for shrimps and prawns. 😅

What followed was 3 hours of eating, chatting and laughing. We actually did not realize time passing by.

Off The Grills

Lamb biryani

I could not get myself to eat this. Though the smell was actually saffrony sweet...

So I ate 2 rounds of shish tawook with salads, samoosas, kibbeh, shawarma, pasta.... cream of mushroom soup and lime with mint juice.

Then I dug into loads and loads of sweets until I felt I was going to explode....

I found a black forest cake that was just newly put and I wanted to cut it, so i got a slice which I did not finish. Actually, I thought @pingcess was going to share with me but...

Anyhow, we stayed there until the restaurant was almost empty again. I had my second cup of americano (effect is still ongoing atm- 1:00am already).

Like on cue, the tealight on our table burned out at around 10:15pm and it was sure enough time to call it a day.

We head out of the restaurant, took some more pictures here and there on the way out and waited of our respective cars at the valet.

As we were waiting, there was a displeased lady complaining at the valet - You are wasting my time... this is the worst service ever!"

Well, we were just so full of positive energy we just shrugged her off. It was none of our business anyway. But seriously, should we still be consumed of whatever not so good occurence when the days is just about to get over?

Well, not for me today...

My day/week started lazy but it ended perfectly with this bunch.

I love that once in a while I get to escape the busy-ness of my mommy-hood and OFW-hood. I get to keep my sanity by spending a few hours with these crazy peeps.

The Weekdays Gang.

Oh, I ❤ the irony!

Now time to take that pain reliever. My body really still feels so sore!

Good mor'nyts, steemit!

@arrliinn


All photos are mine, taken via Samsung Galaxy Note 3



This is my 8th #ulog contribution. #ulog ("you" log) is another trend making waves on steemit which is another brain child of @surpassinggoogle. Be you. You log it.

My previous #ulogs :

ulog: Dinner for Loves
Ulog #2: Happy, Sublime and Beautiful Sunday!
Ulog #3: Just Too Much.
Ulog#4: Sa Jollibee, Bida Ang Saya
Yay For Weekends! (7Day Positivity Challenge & Ulog Entry #5)
Saturday Spent with Lovies, Refreshing for the New Work Week. (#ulog No.6)
Ulog: Best 3 Minutes of the Weekend!

20180516_002249_0001.png

banner by @enginewitty

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Eii, had my shareee!! Toppings—blackberries 😂😂😂

That was it?! I thought you'd share on the cake too

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @arrliinn!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25