Ulog #3 - Talking About Depression: Bullying and Mental Health Awareness

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Making a Ulog is much more work than I thought it would be.... well, it's probably just more work because I made it that way! LOL

I had a beautiful surprise from @snook! She made me a very cool gif for my Paddling Nature Ramble. Thank you so much! I love it! BTW: Be warned! @snook has been set loose with a stamp of approval. You'll know what I mean when you see it...LOL!

I spent the day interviewing my BFF and learning how to edit the video. I think I did a pretty good job...it's very amateurish but the content will make up for it.

In Ulog #2 I talked about a few things that had gone on the other night and my takeaway from it but I also talked a bit about my fight with depression. Several people made comment on it and what they said made me think about increasing awareness.

We all know what it is so I really don't think I need to explain. What I think most people don't understand is living with it. People who deal with depression don't just mope around saying, "Oh WOH is me......". Some of the funniest people I know deal with depression. Don't judge a book by its cover. In fact, how about just don't judge. Education and awareness are key.

My BFF, kisses.420 was very brave to share her struggle with me today. Amid the seriousness, we had a few laughs and we both hope you will share a smile with the next person you lay eyes on. It all starts with a smile and then an ear.

Steem is more than just a platform...it's a home. We choose our friends and enjoy being with family while engaging in earning cryptocurrency. WHAT could be better than that? A BULLY FREE ZONE! It could become a reality if we all work toward it.

Until next time friends...


Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

Sort:  
Loading...

'Ulog', that's a new one for me! Great post and an important subject. In fact, I just posted myself about the social media influence on mental health. All the best!

This was the most amazing video I have ever seen.

I can relate to so much your friend said in so many ways.

Thank you for making this. You have no idea........

Thank you BOTH for making this. I'm sorry I'm a bit lost for words as your words are now in my head...........and thinking back on many things....

I will write more tomorrow and you know I love You!

but this is bigger than a funny sticker. <3 hugs

You're so supportive!! Thanks so much and I passed your thanks onto kisses.420. She says, "Hugs!"...love ya back!

Your friend is brave to share this, but then it does always help to not bottle things up and deal with them alone. You are right about Steemit, it is a home and I am maybe fortunate that I only ever see the good side of it - I'm sure there is a little dark but there always is anywhere in life.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks @c0ff33a!! Sometimes we need a little dark to get us going!

It is courageous to share these types of stories, many we feel identified with them, thank you for sharing.

I am really glad you spoke up and talked about this serious issue. It is important to talk about it. And, when you told us in TOTL about how some people texted you after telling you should not talk about this problem so openly I was little ticked off to tell you the truth.

The only way to solve a problem is to talk about it. If you went through it or going through it maybe there are people there who need help getting through it, or you just need a support to get through it.

Either way, everything is easier with amazing, great, and supportive people around you. That is what we should all be for each other. Supportive and helping each. Being there for each other. :)

"I am your GODD".. lol That made me laugh.. hehe

Have an amazing day, my friend. :)

Thanks for weighing in!! You're so sweet.....don't let that go to your head.......I really appreciate your support. You have a great day too!

I am so tired right now that I don't have much coherent to say, but I have a lot of experience with depression and other things myself, so I wanted to watch your video.

I definitely have things to say, but I wanted to tell you that I think this is truly wonderful that you're doing this and creating awareness. I have a goofy, fun random side, but I struggle with depression as well.

It is a good thing to put information like this out there so that people feel less alone. You're an inspiration. Thank you for sharing!

Thanks for adding your voice @byn! I really do appreciate it.....not feeling alone is important.

LMFAAAOOOO I love you guys! hahaha this whole thing is so how life with you two is though!
The Hospital thing is so ridiculous. She is lucky she even got into a room, Last time my friend was there they shoved her in a hallway with guards on either side of her chair... It Doesn't help what so ever!
Emotional Abuse is much worse I agree!

Sorry I'm so far behind on my replies. My computer has been having a temper tantrum.....I think it needs a time out!

Thanks so much for making this video and thanks to your friend for sharing her story. <3
Tilly the doggie is so adorable!

It's so late for me but I know I must make a good comment here! Well don't worry for @snook approved means its family approved! Lets travel to steemgigs tomorrow and hang out in @surpassinggoogle's house and chit chat about canoes and birds!

LOL!!! get some sleep! Thanks @dynamicgreentk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74