#ULOG: artgirl 07-14-18, Small White Sea Urchin and Curiosity, Kills The Cat? ๐Ÿ˜‚

in #ulog โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Well if it does I would have died like maybe four times already since a few months ago. ๐Ÿ˜

I've looked into sea cucumbers, Avocado seeds, penis fish, Christmas Palm tree seeds (Adonidia Merrillii), all of which I wrote about here in Steemit and the other site. And now I'm about half curious with the small sea urchin I saw back in April. Blame it on the recent contest I resteemed. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Screenshot_2018-04-09-18-58-04-054_com.miui.videoplayer.jpg

(This shot which won me a spot in the IFC. Haha.)

It's been a slow curiosity though. I mean, some months ago I originally thought it's a baby sea urchin because it's small. I think it's only 2" in diameter, including the spikes.

And then @pinay said how do I know if it's a baby? ๐Ÿ˜‚ And a quick online search did show me it's possibly not a baby at all. Might be just a small sea urchin. (Oh I love the internet. ๐Ÿ˜…)

Today I tried to do another quick search for what might be the scientific name of this creature. I typed in "sea urchin white spikes" and discover there are white sea urchins. Oh interesting.

A bit more searching and maybe it's a Tripneustes ventricosus? Who knows...

Screenshot_2018-07-14-10-28-25-399_com.android.chrome.png

An earlier search result showed me some articles too. In Apr to Jun 2011, an American scientist Rich Mooi went off the Luzon, PH coast and classified some new species of echinoderms and such. Wow. Ain't that a cool job eh?

It had me wondering why aren't we doing such classifications in our own islands too? No budget/funding? No interest? Or maybe it is simply unpublished and unreported? Who knows... My online research have not reached that far yet.

(We have Marine Biology in our universities here in the PH if anyone isn't aware. I didn't know abt it too until some months ago.)

I only went as far as to tweeting some other deep sea scientist who mentioned him. That tweet said something abt him being stumped on another sea creature. Let's see what happens next. Maybe she will reply or not.

Haven't found his Twitter acct, seems like he doesn't have one.


I love how my free time is bringing me back my childhood curiosity. Plus the internet can let you find almost anything and allow us to reach out to anyone. (And anyone can reach out to you too.) It's understandable if in case she/he does not respond to the tweet and pic.

The Manila Standard writer didn't think I should photograph his Aztec calendar (for the IFC scavenger hunt) (maybe). Apparently he replied back to my email and told me to just take a pic off the internet. ๐Ÿ˜‚ No explanation whatsoever. Maybe he thought it weird for a complete stranger suddenly asking if one can take a photo of his 2015 office display item that he wrote about. Haha. I can only imagine what he might have thought.

Anyway I'm just rambling now so I shall finally go to sleep. Zzzzz.

XOXO,
@artgirl


For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.


First image is mine. 2nd is a Wikipedia screenshot.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
ยฉ Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also an online seller. For art and writing commissions, feel free to contact me.
You can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


468x60 btc.gif

468x60 bch.gif

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

โ™ฅ Thanks! โ™ฅ


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort: ย 

@artgirl nature is awesome.. you have a grear art to explain.

Yes it is awesome. Thanks. ๐Ÿ˜

Posted using Partiko Android

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Kung kasing liit ng kalamansi malamang baby pa pero kung kasize na ng apple teen na siguro yan ๐Ÿ˜…

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Hahahaha ganern b un? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ E d baby p nga anliit lang e.

Posted using Partiko Android

Mahirap kasi pag photo lang eh malaki pag naka macro mode cam ๐Ÿ˜‚

Ndi yan macro, malapitan ko lang pinicturan. ๐Ÿ˜… Maliit lng yan tlga. ๐Ÿ˜

Posted using Partiko Android

Ito matatanda na ๐Ÿ˜Š
image.jpeg

S may beach s inyo yan? Luh... Laki.

Oo di naman kasi kumakain nyan mga tao samin pero sa Cebu binibenta yan google mo ๐Ÿ˜…

Yung mga itim lang meron samin nyan. Nagoogle ko n same lang ng pic n pinost ko yan. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82