#Ulog Day 4: In Search Of Poor Pupils

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I like coincidence, and when I see one, I pay attention to it. 2018 has been a fantastic year in my life, somhow, I can say that it is a year when I attained full maturity. Don't get it wrong , I am a young adult, so ain't no teenager.😊😊😊

1525803991647.jpg
@autofreak in the school premise.

Why Is 2018 Different?

Many shitty things that bothers me now mean nothing to me anymore, to a large extent, I am more tolerant than I have ever been before. That's maturity, huh?

Real Gist

The issue of maturity is just by the way, I had a great experience today. At about 8:45am, the thought of students who are too poor to buy uniforms came to my mind, it was hard to dismiss. Instead of procrastinating, I quickly called a friend so we could go to University of Ilorin Primary School together, to search for pupils who might need help. It was an impromptu call, I was surprised that he expressed readiness to go with me. Then I quickly put a call through to the tailor, actually I often go to schools first without tailor, so I can take permission from the school authority. This time, I just decided to take risk. What if the school should decline our offer? No problem, our intentions are crystal clear.

At 8:45am, I started planning this impromptu outing, and we are supposed to meet at the part at 12:00pm. Oh! I didn't tell you that I quickly took a nap in between, since I had sleepless night googling some information.

At 11:23am, I called my friend, but the moment that I heard sound of car horns at the background, I knew he would not be available again. To confirmed my doubt, I asked if he's ready, the response was negative. Well, no disappointment. Without wasting time, I reached out to the tailor, as a professional, he was already at the park, waiting for his client (me).

We boarded a taxi, fast forward to 1:00pm. We got to the school, it environment is beautiful, neat and noise free. I already formed an impression that it is less likely that we will ever see pupils with torn uniforms. My tailor want a job, he said "well, we cannot be so sure." The first classroom is Nursery 2, I exchanged pleasantry with the class teacher, I asked for direction to office of the headmistress. Unfortunately, she was not on seat, we met her secretary instead. Waiting for her is like wasting of precious time, I have cinematography class to attend at 3:00pm.

IMG_20180504_160908.jpg

Source: My course mate (Aghor Ayobami)

I quickly asked for direction to office of her assistant, I met the beautiful old woman, sitting elegantly on her seat. With smile on my face, I entered into her office and told her reason why we've come to her school. Her response made me happy.

dear, I appreciate your kind gesture. In fact, we need more youths like you in our society. But I believe that pupils in some other schools might need this help more. None of our pupils have bad uniform, because we quickly draw attention of their parents to such thing, and they response swiftly.

I am happy because ever since we embarked on this journey, this is the first time I am seeing such public school. I am really impressed!

Quickly, we moved to another fascinating topic. It was nice guiding my host on latest agricultural practice. She expressed sadness about termites invasion in her garden. In summary, I made new friend today.

Soon enough, we will check some other schools.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86