#Ulog #5: The Miserable Internet Connection in the Philippines

in #ulog6 years ago

The Philippines as studies shows has the poorest internet speed in Asia. This is such a major sadness to think that there are a lot of Overseas Filipino Workers anywhere in the world. Their families here in the country needs a good internet service so they can contact their loved ones abroad. In the experience of a cousin in Saudi Arabia, she feels hopeless at times to communicate with her husband and only child since the internet connection here in the Philippines is so horrible that they can't even make a decent video call. Sad but true. Being away her only solace is a video call with her family but unfortunately, they can't do it regularly.

Anyway, I made this article to share my experience of this miserable internet connection I am talking about. Being a community writer for me is a noble act. To make articles for the community is my goal every day. Today, I am catching up with the lost days I wasn't able to fulfill my duties. I am supposed to make 4 articles. Considering my capacity to make an article, I just need about 1 and a half to make a complete one including the thumbnail. That 1 and a half hour has a time allowance for this miserable internet connection that is why it is that long. But to my dismay, it took me 5hours to finish just one article because of the horrible wifi since I started using it at 3 pm.

186.jpg

Honestly, I just feel so frustrated to the point that I wasn't able to make a personal blog today ( this is my personal blog working on it at 1 am in the morning). Really tho!!! This is not the only time I experienced such bad service but this is the most horrifying one. Please forgive me but how I wish I could smash the owner of this corporation ( I am calm now as I make this blog, I felt that awhile ago). I managed to do all the troubleshooting but the result is still the same. (please forgive me with my article guys. This is my #ulog for the day).

187.jpg

After the tedious struggle finishing the 2nd article, I decided to cool down myself for a small voice like me will never be heard. It frustrates and saddens me a lot thinking about how many articles I COULD HAVE FINISHED if only the internet provider is just. Paying one thousand pesos per month for an unlimited prepaid wifi is really not fair considering the delays it caused. I just always adjust and make damage control of this horrific slow internet in my country. I could have done more if only... the internet connection is fair.

I even contact their customer service but the response is MUCH EVEN SLOWER!!!
Well anyway, enough of the rant because this case I am tackling is not unusual to me. This a perennial issue that not only me who experience. When the going gets tough, I just have to keep going. Still looking at the positive side, this experience teaches me to manage my emotions. Who knows this may be happening for a reason. I learn to be quiet and depart from the root of the rage to keep myself composed and my mind clear. Sometimes we just need to see the brighter side of every challenging situation.
188.jpg

How I wish and hope that the internet in the Philippines will get better. Especially now with the advent of social marketing, an excellent internet connection is a must for a better production. hope this may happen one day my country can compete regarding internet speed. One day I will see in studies that the Philippines tops the best internet service in the world. I am still looking forward that one day it may happen.

Do you experience the same my fellow Filipino Steemian? Drop a comment below. Would be grateful to hear from you.
Drop a comment below and tell me how you manage such experience :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09