#ulog 2 : What's urgent than urgent?

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I was planning to make my second #ulog post yesterday but I was too tired when I got home from work. It's only a day that I'm out of office and I was bombarded with emails and urgent requests. I've got three urgent requests that needed to be implemented by Friday of this week.
And I was shookt because when I checked the requests two of them are major requests.

This is one of the requests with major updates that I need to do. It consists of 112 files. (geezzz.. 😅)
P_20180705_174617_1.jpg

Anyways, after attending some more mails and staring at my computer screen for about 30 minutes, I put on my earphones, tuned in for some instrumental music and shifted to my super sonic self.

Just before I started working my colleague who was stationed next to me was ranting about her urgent tasks as well. I told her that her rants won't complete her tasks. Then I helped her evaluate her tasks because she seemed agitated seeing the word "Urgent" on her email's subject line.

Then she suddenly asked me, "How would you know which urgent is urgent?". Though she asked it jokingly, she said that it's half meant. That she really do wanted to know which urgent is urgent.

Since I've been more experienced in working under pressure than her, I gave her some tips that she could use.

First, I let her write down her tasks that has "deadlines", so we could both see clearly rather than scrolling up and down on her email for the dates.

Second, I told her that she should also consider "importance", because there are urgent tasks that are not so important.

Third, I helped her evaluate each of her listed tasks based on "value or impact". Which has greater business impact to our team goal.

Then lastly I let her numbered each of her tasks based on those three things that she needs to consider.

After that she was pacified from her rants.
It's a natural office scene to experience loads of tasks especially when you are working in corporate world where Urgent is normal.

My years of experience in the corporate world taught me a lot about prioritization. It is the key, not only in work, but also applicable to our daily life.

Other people may help us with our priorities. But in the end it's only ourselves who could identify which ones are valuable to us.

Life is short, and we can't just randomly do things in our life so urgently that has no higher impact/value or importance to our future.

And since it's already late..
It is my priority to sleep..

Til next time #uloggers!! 😁

Sort:  

Congratulations @bineysamferry! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70