#ulog #2 Welcome to Learn-A-Word (principal vs principle)

in #ulog5 years ago

9w4xjupuhl.jpg

source

In my quest to become a better writer I've decided to spend some time on a regular basis on my increasing my vocabulary. I thought I'd share with you the words as I look at them. You can never have too many words (right @quillfire?) and it can be embarassing to use the wrong word. Also, since Steem is a world wide community, I know that English is a secondary language to many of my friends. Hopefully, we will all learn something along the way.

I was reading a post today and the author had the wrong usage for "principle" and it distracted me from the point he was trying to make. So here are my first words that I'm going to look at in this series.

Principal vs Principle

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Principal can be used as either a noun or an adjective. To use it as a noun it usually refers to a school administrator:

If you get into trouble, you will be sent to the principal's office

To use it as an adjective means main or important:

The principal reason I chose that car was for the great gas mileage.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Principle is a noun that refers to a moral belief or a basic truth:

It is against my principles to cheat on an exam.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

And since everyone loves a contest, in honor of my first post in this series, I will give away to the winner 1 share of Steem Basic Income. Just make a comment using both words featured in this post. I will chose the best comment with the correct usage of the words.

Have a great Steem day!

blueeyes8960.gif

Coinsplus.jpg

LINK to discord

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

@blueeyes8960

What a GREAT IDEA! I'm kicking myself that I didn't think of it. Well done.

OK, here's my entry:

"The First Principle of the Enlightenment, principally a movement intent on separating religion and science, was that perceptions of Truth ought be based upon observable evidence, not ideological assertion," analogously opined Quill, a principal in the movement to restore sanity to higher education.

Principal Williams threw a shoe at Quill's face in an effort to de-platform him by removing his teeth, principal players in the formation of words.

Quill

Love it! I knew you'd come through! Maybe I'll use "analogously" for my next word. 🤔😎

The Principal had a principle to send everyone home if they complained too much. His principal reason was that he was tired of the children and the parents alike that had nothing better to do than complaining about everything. He rather wanted to spend time with the kids that wanted to learn.

🤪

Great usage of the words. And a truth as well!

That was actually very interesting!

Posted using Partiko Android

You know, if you let me know about contests - I will include them in the daily prompt...

The principal reason that our high school principal was loved was because of his principles.

Nice usage of both the words in one sentence, correctly done! Thanks for participating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84