Ulog #011 - My birthday

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I added another year to my years yesterday 5th of July. It started as a very dull day except for my beautiful cake (made by me). It's a double delight cake; chocolate cake and red velvet...everyone said it was yummy. While baking the cake, I was really skeptical because each year I bake my birthday cake, there's always a blunder and it happened again, the red velvet cake crashed, I had to call on my experience to get it together.

You already know my chocolate cake recipe, but I tried the oil recipe for the red velvet (this was because I was broke and had to improvise; I even made my own buttermilk using milk and vinegar).
image

Then I used shortening (called white butter around here) for my decoration. I planned to make a purple ombre cake but the purple looks pink, I don't understand how.
image
See, it looks purple here.

image
Then, it looks pink here.

image
My baby sis and I took a few shots before rushing out of the house to our PPAs (we are both corpers).

I was already late for work so I decided to take a bike, this turned out to be a bad decision because the bikeman decided that the cake was the best thing to rest his back on...the beautiful roses were smeared. I was so angry but I didn't want to start a new year with annoyance, so I let it off.

As I got to work, I checked my WhatsApp inboxes and was astounded by the number of messages I got.

I got toons from members of this lovely community (steemit is a big family), I loved them all. No, I still love them. Big hugs to you all. I love you.

First was from one of the very first friends I made here, @morahn....
image

Then came another beautiful one from @marvel1206
image

And lastly but not the least, @camzy came through for me!
image

They brought back my smile.

Then, boom! My friends came over with a surprise cake....I have the best friends in the world!
image

image
Concentrate on the smeared cake not on our faces. Those two brought the cake, our history goes down back to 2012. I love them.

image
My colleagues at work.

I almost had nothing to take home as people who tasted the cake invited their friends over, yes, I know, I bake the best cakes ever.
image

I'll be totally ungrateful if I fail to mention @rebeccafl, she sent me the money for the cake ingredients. God bless you baby.

@daniel-otaniel, @prechyrukky and @oredebby, thank you for the posts.
@druids, thank you for the gift.
@mimy, thank you for the song and prayers.
@seunthomas, words fail me to appreciate you.

#steembees #i-rise #genesisproject #steemiansarena #naijapidgin #qunqun gang, you are the best...I love you plenty.

Time and space will not permit me to mention you all one by one, but I'm coming back to your inbox to give my thanks.

Yoruba's will say "eniyan laso mi" meaning, "people are my clothes/covering"

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart and God bless you.

P.S: If you want me to share my red velvet cake oil recipe with you, indicate in the comment box.


I am @bookoons, reminding you today to Make A Difference!

Sort:  

Happy birthday bookoons...

Happy birthday dear u have been upvoted courtesy for @kayceefresh and @oilprice have fun

More blessings to your new age, Amen

The cake be looking so sweet and yummy.
I pray you celebrate more years, i'm good health and sound mind. You deserve a special post baby... More money, more wins, more sbd, more steem, more sp, more qun. Hahaha. More of every good things of life sis😘
Much love for you sis😍😘

What a very nice post... You always have a way with words... Ibhardly read peoples post this days, i just skim through... But when i go theough yours i get tempted to read it all....
I'm so happy you like the toon... I feel guilty kind off... You deserve more but we all understand how things are this days.... I hope you get compensated some how... As far as i know youre the best of friend that i know through steemit, you and @burlarj... Lots of love dear.

May you witness more years in good health.. Hbd in arias

Well done o, you are doing Toon for everybody but didn't do for me... Am watching you in HD camera

Thank God you were able to scale through the troubles and have a good day. Happy birthday to you

Am highly interested.. Happy happy birthday wishing you the best enjoy ur new age

Belated happy birthday! Your cake looked absolutely stunning!! I'm so glad that you are surrounded by lovely people who made your day a happy one. Lovely to meet you on here. E x

Thank you all very much. I'm grateful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84