Agave Mexican Grill: Traverse City, MI

in #ulog6 years ago

While my wife and I were camping in Traverse City this past weekend we decided to go out to eat for a couple of meals.

Usually when we are camping we stick to our campsite and make our own meals there. This was a special occasion though because we were in town for my nieces softball tournament.

Although we have been to Traverse City many times, Agave was a new place for us to try. It took us a little bit to find the restaurant over by the mall in town but once we did, we were pleasantly surprised.

It was happy hour when we arrived, so we both got one of their classic margaritas. My wife and I prefer ours on the rocks as opposed to the slushy variety. They were a little heavier on sour mix than tequila for my taste, but not unexpected for a happy hour well cocktail.

The house salsa had a little more heat to it than most typical Mexican places in the US, so that was also a welcome surprise. I am a sucker for chips and salsa, so I usually find myself full by the time my entree arrives.

The chips were crispy and not too greasy, they also were sturdy and held up well to dipping in the salsa.

The decor was pretty typical of most Mexican establishments in the US. The menu was also pretty common. If you haven't been to the States, a lot of the smaller town Mexican places tend to have very similar items on their menus with the occasional slight variation.

As an example, my wife and I were easily able to find a dish on the menu very similar to our favorites at the local Mexican restaurant near our house.

We ordered our food and as expected it arrived at our table within ten minutes. While we appreciate the promptness, it used to freak us out that our food was delivered so quickly.

We now understand that much of Mexican-American cooking is prep work and as long as that is done ahead of time, it doesn't take much to cook the protein and heat up the rest of the food.

My wife got the Chicken Fajita Burrito. It consisted of a flour tortilla wrapped around grilled chicken, peppers, onions, and beans with a cheese sauce on top. It also came with rice, lettuce, sour cream, and pico de gallo on the side.

IMG_20180705_183146.jpg

IMG_20180705_183622.jpg

I went with the Burrito Mexicano which was a flour tortilla filled with slow roasted shredded pork, onions, and peppers. It was topped with cheese sauce and also came with rice, lettuce, and guacamole.

IMG_20180705_183137.jpg

IMG_20180705_183618.jpg

The quality of both our entrees was amazing and what we didn't eat because we filled up on chips and salsa, we took home and finished later that night.

Our experience at Agave was so positive that two nights later when we were trying to figure out what to do for dinner we went there again.

My wife got the same thing and I got the Steak Fajita Burrito which was just as good as my other burrito.

Agave has two locations in Traverse City you can visit, depending on which part of town you are in.

There is another regional Mexican restaurant chain in the area that you could go to(it shall remain nameless), but I recommend skipping it and heading to Agave if you are looking for a great Mexican meal!

Thanks for stopping in!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

I would probably follow your choice and go for the Burrito Mexicana, even though I am not a big fan of guacamole. Looks tasty, and got to admit, I got very hungry looking at your pictures!

Thanks! There is a similar dish that many places have which consists of two cheese enchiladas with pork, onions, and peppers on top covered by a red sauce. That is usually one of my other favorites if I can find it on the menu. I didn't grow up liking guac, but I love it now.

OMGosh!!! That looks so good!
We used to go to TC when I was a kid for part of our summer vacation, there were maybe five motels there.. but NOW!?!?! It is HUGE! Unfortunately TC has lost its privacy luster for me.

Yeah, it is pretty busy and crazy. There are some small towns up the peninsula that are still pretty cool though. Sutton's Bay, Nortport, Leeland etc.

I go for vegetarian version but I love guacamole and nachos so much. Always mild, bit of spicy sometimes.

A lot of the restaurants have a vegetarian section of their menu. In fact if my wife doesn't get the chicken fajita burrito, she frequently gets the vegetarian combo b which is two bean burritos covered in cheese sauce.

That sounds so yummy... Just made me hungry. I love beans. Now deeply aware I have not lunched yet lol

It is mid morning here, but I am getting hungry for a snack as well. It is really good. I always tease her saying "do you really think they make those beans separate from the other beans they use lard in" and she just tells me to shut up :)

Lol as vegetarian I would be on your wife's side, sorry lol (ew) lol. I gave not eaten meat in 30 years. Lol! So hope they do not. I think there is awareness of people choosing not too. This reminds me to my mum lentils soup, on a vusit, strongly tasting like chorizo (kind of sausage spices) snd she pretending she did not just take it out from the plate loool. My mum is sweet though haha

That is funny. Yeah, I think I would be mad too. My guess is they would have to be different because it could be a business-ender if it came out they were lying. It is fun to tease her though :)

I'm about to sleep and now I am craving for some burrito. Now I need to look for some over the weekend haha. I guess I would just try to sleep it over thinking about that burrito.

Burritos are so awesome because you can put pretty much anything you want in them! Good luck trying to sleep. I'd be getting up for a midnight snack!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-11T13:46:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 529.00/200.00
Total Photos: 74
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.24 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love the pictures and the food😍

Thank you!

That looked very tasty indeed.

We've also done that, where we went to one place multiple times in one week because the food was that good. On vacation at a cheese-fondue restaurant.

Awesome! It is always exciting when you find something that you enjoy that much!

Yum! I havent been to a Mexican restaurant in ages! Your photos have really got me craving it now... :D

Oh gosh, I need it at least once a month to survive! Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73