ULOG #11: Hunting for a job: People I met

in #ulog6 years ago

6 AUG 2018 - Ortigas, Pasig

It was around 8pm, I've been waiting for my name to be called for the voice assessment, then one co-applicant approached me then we started talking casually to each other. Her name is Rain. She's from Antipolo, Rizal.

20180806_200103.jpg

She said she's been going back n forth around metro to find a job but unfortunely, she hasn't landed on anything yet. I liked the moment when she's pouring her heart out on telling me her recent endeavors although we've only started talking only less than an hour ago that night. It made me feel trustworthy and made me believe I am that kind of an approachable stranger (hehe). Sometimes, we're chatting. She's updating me when she's out, hunting for a job. And I like how she's eager to invite me along.

1 AUG 2018 - Centris, Cubao

After my first rejection on a group-interview, I was all lost and clueless on how to get to home from the busy roads of EDSA. Thanks be to God, there were nice MMDA officers on site. The last officer I talked to was a very nice man. First, I asked him how to get to any bus stations bound to Sta. Cruz, Laguna then he gave me derections. After that he asked me, if I was applying for a job. And I said yes. He then asked me what was my course and where did I study. Told him I took BSHRM at LSPU in Sta. Cruz, Laguna.

Then he said (non verbatim),
'bakit di mo i-try sa MMDA? Pwede ka sa office.'
(Why don't you try applying with MMDA? You could be assigned to our office.)

I hesitantly replied 'itatanong ko po muna sa parents ko kasi hindi po related sa course ko'
(I would consult my parents first because, that job is not related with my course).

He agreed with what I said but told me that it's hard to find a job nowadays. Which was true. Most of jobs requires bachelor's degree, or higher level of education and some, years of experiences in the field. These are the challenges I face in the course of finding a job as a fresh graduate. And besides, my parents aren't the ones going to work. It's me.

Then he said.
'Minsan kasi, 'yung magulang din ang may problema. Pagka-graduate ng anak nila, ine-expect nilang makakapagtrabaho agad. Akala nila, madali yun?'.
(Sometimes, parents are the problem. After their child graduate, they expect them to land on a job right a way). And I totally agreed.

I'm not pressured by my parents, but I've read a lot of posts/rants regarding that. Usually, it doesn't boosts their child's initiative but rather, discourages them. So many are ending up on a mismatch (unrelated job to one's course taken) job and unemployment. So I'm glad my parents does not rush me. Hehe.

Thanks be to God!

Sort:  

Itanong ko sa isang kapatid baka may opening sa kanila. Ano ba course mo po? Add mo po ako sa FB.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16