Ulog # 2: Having a wise talk with my lolo about life ✨

in #ulog6 years ago

In response to Sir Terry's movement (@surpassinggoogle), here's my 2nd ulog.

They say old people are the wisest people. That's because they are all ahead of us when it comes to age, maturity, wisdom, time, and experience. Everything that we're going through today, they've already surpassed yesterday. There's not a situation right now that we're in that they haven't went through. And they all have lived through it and survived and is right now there to guide us and help us in our daily life struggles.

That's why I value so much the advise and stories of people older than me, especially those of grandparents. Whenever I come face to face with a Grandma (Lola) or a Grandpa (Lolo) or be in conversation with them, whether it's my grandparent or not, I always make sure to listen and get a lesson from their stories. Most of the time, I also noticed as well how talkative and indulging they can get once they have somebody or younger people to listen to them. It's like stories just flow out of their mouths and it feels like they always have something to say and wants to be heard.


C360_2018-05-10-14-46-07-987_1.jpg


And so, I treasure so much the talk that I had with my Lolo earlier this morning. He lives in our province which is in Camotes Islands and I rarely see him because of that. But I can still say that I'm very attached to him regardless of our distance. I remember way back in childhood and schooling days, every summer vacation, I and my mother always make sure to go home to our province and stay there for at least 2 weeks to visit my Lolo and some of our cousins and relatives who are still living there. But ever since I graduated college and started working, we were not able to do that anymore. Good thing though, my Lolo came to visit us in the city instead along with a few of my cousins and spent 2 days here with us before moving to my Uncle's and Aunt's houses to visit them as well. So that talk earlier was a very rare opportunity and occasion.

As I was cleaning my room, he overheard my conversation with my 17-year old cousin whom he also brought with him from our province. I was telling my cousin about some struggles I had already experienced even in my young age and things I've realized about life. I'm 22 right now and there are some things I learned after graduating college which I shared to her. Especially lessons about people and getting attached to them and letting them go. I've told my cousin about how saddening it is for me that people I once shared my dreams with in college are now the people who are strangers to me again--- How life brought us together and how it broke us apart. I treasure people and relationships so much and try to keep them as much as possible over time but they still get lost. But the lesson I've learned from this is accepting things the way they are now and learning to adjust with whatever changes that will happen in life. Accepting the fact that you can lose people but that it's not a hindrance to meeting new people as well and continuing with life because it's still so beautiful and amazing.

My Lolo overheard this part and joined in the conversation. He's actually pleased to hear that I'm sharing with my cousin some valuable lessons in life and that, even at my young age, I've learned to adjust and move on from those situations that struck me hard. He also shared some of his experiences and told us both specifically that..

In life, there are times for joy and there are times for sadness; there's a time for laughing and there's a time for weeping; there are ups and there are downs. But that we should never worry because these are all part of life. We have to go through them all so that we can become the person that we are right now and the person we will be.

In times of struggle-- if the situation is impossibly difficult, always seek guidance from the Lord and don't forget to pray. Because through Him, everything is possible. He won't give us a challenge we won't overcome. And pray much harder in times of happiness. Never forget to be grateful to Him for all the blessings received.

And lastly, don't get stuck. After every difficulty, always try to rise up and move on and get going. Acceptance is always the key. Because those people who cannot accept things or changes that happened will most likely not survive and lose their minds.

After that talk, I hugged my Lolo and thanked him for the wonderful message he shared. Indeed, life on Earth is not that easy and simple. But thankfully, aside from these challenges we have to go through ourselves, we have our grandparents and parents to guide us, who knows things much better than we do. It's still a very beautiful life. Those challenges are just spices to make life more amazing. Let's not waste it by being sulky and ungrateful. We should always remember that every day may not be good but that there's always something good in everyday. And also, if you're having a bad day, it does not mean you have a bad life. Everyday is a chance-- take it and make a change.


P_20180509_193632.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66