#ULOG 4: My Success Story - Going Up The Corporate Ladder Part#1

in #ulog6 years ago

0EACB5CB-0A3E-46C1-9141-25D773910218.jpeg

After my college studies, I went to Manila to look for a job because I was informed by my wife, my girlfriend back then, that we’re having a baby. It was a mix emotion, I was excited but afraid because of the bigger responsibility ahead.

For 8 months I wasn’t able to land a decent job. I took a salesman’s job at Collins International selling Solingen products from Germany. We go house-to-house and office-to-office selling. I was able to get clients from government offices like BIR and SSS in quezon City. My job was like that of the old ELECTROLUX salesman. I was’nt ashamed of what I was doing because I was able to learn to deal with people and overcome my shy province boy mentality. My co-salesmen lend me inspirational book to ignite the fire in me. I learned to sell properly and slowly getting many satisfied customer. I need to be more patient and must persevere to earn more for my coming baby. I realized there were a lot of money in sales. I only earn on commission basis and if I will work double time I will be getting good commission as well. I stayed in that company for one year. After my wife delivered our first born, I looked for a regular job and luckily I was hired at Kameraworld Inc., a photofinishing company, as salesclerk. I was assined at Harrison Plaza branch. Now that I have a salaried job, I became more determined to become better. My selling experience from my previous company showed early as my manager saw my selling skills. When I was on my 4th month, my manager asked me to apply for management trainee position because I was good in dealing with people but I refused, fearing that I can’t do the job because I don’t have experience on handling peole. However, I was convinced by my co-employee and also my friend to apply because of better remuneration ahead. He was also applying for the same position.

I was not expecting much because I was new and there were many employees better than me. Still I pursued the application and was tasked to take the examination regarding company procedures and policies. The content of the examination was still fresh because I took the company training just barely two months before the examination. I realize that was an advantage for me.

After a week, my store manager told me to report in the head office for a panel interview. I reported the following day for the said interview. I noticed that my friend who applied and took the exam with me was not there. We were 8 candidates for the vacant position. It took each candidate at least 30 minutes before they come out of the panel room. I was the youngest of all the applicant aged 22. Most of them are senior photographer or senior printer. I knew they all had advantage over me but that didn’t made me discourage, I took it as a challenge.

I entered a room with six formal looking men and women. The management committee. The people I respect and admired as well. I was there to be interviewed by high ranking company officials. I thought it was too much for me. As I always did when I close my sales, I took a deep breath and I prayed in my mind so God guide me in answering. I was focused during that time and taking every questions like a simple question from a client. I knew I need to properly sell myself to capture the job. I remembered a question asked to me by our accounting manager, she said “What is the similarity between a nursing profession (that’s my course) from a selling profession?”. I glanced each of them before I answered. May be they thought I was inside the deepest hole I’d ever been in my life. I smiled and told them, the similarity was simple, it’s TLC. They asked me what is TLC. I said, Tender Loving Care. You need to put same TLC with patient and client. They smiled and nod. The interview was over. I went home without a hint of passing or not. I reported the next day in our branch and my manager told me to take the assistant photographer position to help the senior photographer. My co-staff asked me what happened and I said the interview went well. I took the camera that I will be using to take pictures of customers and clean it. I arranged the studio for the day’s use. I heared my manager was speaking somebody on the phone and I heared my name mentioned. As I was arranging the studio lights, she said “Report in the head office tomorrow our President wants to talk to you”. I got nervous asking why, she said final interview.

104B00B8-4426-465F-ADFB-69B26A423A69.jpeg

I reported the following day to the head office again. This time I was alone. I went straight to the secretary. She said to wait for a while. She went inside the office of the President and went out after 30 seconds. She approached me saying that I can go inside now. That was my first time to talk to our president in a formal manner. When I entered he was holding a bunch of paper with a smile in his face. He asked me personal questions and family background. Then he raised and offered his hand and congratulated me. He asked me to proceed to our HR Manager to sign documents. It’s all happiness during that moment in my life. I approached the HR Manager and talk to him. He told me that I was the only applicant who passed and become a management trainee and he reiterated that since I passed, I won’t be taking exam and interview again during my regularization because I already passed it. When I reached six month I am considered regular.

I was trained for three months and was evaluated by my superior, luckily I passed. I was assigned to my first branch as supervisor at our Pioneer-Boni branch.

I will continue the story next time… wait for the part two.

Team #UnliSteemersPh
Supporting @surpassinggoogle #steemgigs

Visit our Website
APLYANSES
RED SEA TRAVEL AND TOURS
COOLARTH'S BLOG

C17467D0-913C-4EC3-A1C4-A4B3A16F526E.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow CONGRATULATIONS!! It's really nice to earn such rewards after those hard works you've been through! Everything really pays off, you just need to be patient, consistent and hard working. Of course above all be faithful, for everything happens for a reason :) Goodluck and God bless to your journey @Coolarth

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Inspirational post like this deserved an upvote.keep it up sir keep on steeming!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13