#ULOG No. 3 - Mother & Daughter Day

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

It was time for my six week postpartum checkup. Normally I take my newborn babies with me so my midwives and nurses can see them. Today I felt a little different. My husband was home, the big kids were occupied with art and the baby was asleep. I decided to leave everyone at the house and go by myself.

As I was getting ready for my appointment this overwhelming thought came over me...

I need to spend more time with my mom.

For those of us that still have our moms with us today we are truly blessed. Since I am always busy taking care of our five children and home, I don’t get a lot of free time to spend just with my mom. She comes over as often as she can to visit us but we don’t really get that one on one mother and daughter time like we used to. So I decided to give her a call and invite her to my appointment. Thank goodness she was free and excited to come along with me.

3DD0C19A-57C8-40C4-BEF8-39CE1F9B7DFE.jpeg

We were sitting in the office waiting to be called back so why not...

Take a Selfie?!

I’m glad we did because we haven’t took a picture together in awhile.

We got to catch up on what we’ve been up to. We talk quite often on the phone like maybe 3 or 4 times a week but it was nice doing so in person this time. I shamefully admit she calls me way more than I do her...I really need to get better with that. We have to cherish our loved ones while we can and not take a moment for granted.

857B78EE-12FC-413E-BB5E-6EA7362A8CF8.png

We used to be a lot closer but time seems to get in between us. It just slips away and I can’t grasp enough of it for bonding. I plan on changing that. From now on we will have more frequent mother and daughter days where it is just the two of us. My mom is still young and vibrant (as you can see) and I want to take advantage while she is still fit and active and able to get out and about. We don’t know what our parents will face at an older age. What if she develops Alzheimer’s and forgets me? What if her eyes go bad and she can’t see me? What if she looses her hearing or ability to speak? Lord forbid any of those things will happen but I don’t want to wait until she reaches the age when her body starts to give way. I don’t want to be crying in my room wishing I would have done more and spent more time with her.

6704F0E9-51F2-409A-B219-C576216F8964.jpeg

We decided to do one more selfie where we pretended we were on vacation having a grand time! We gotta make waiting Fun right?!!!

After my appointment I had to make a couple more runs and then I took my mom out for lunch. We had a really nice time away from home and in the fresh air. She told me I made her day and she’ll never forget times like this. I am so glad God placed her on my mind and put this in my heart to do~

71C773FA-3FED-4497-9B5E-18063B9708EE.png

If your mother is still living today and you have not spent any quality time with her lately, I encourage you to do so. Pick up that phone and invite her to your next appointment! 😂

Spend some time with your father if he is in your life as well. Let’s overwhelm our parents with our love and presence and show them how much we care for them. ❤️

Thanks for Reading!

#ulog by @surpassinggoogle

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

So glad you had this time with her! I try to think of things I can do with my mom. Most of the time, it's just come over and eat dinner with me and my husband or watch a movie or have coffee together. She lives about 5 minutes from me! She is past 80 now and not as active as she once was.

Thank you @violetmed! What you are doing with your mom is grand! It doesn’t have to be a spectacular event or going out on a vacay...just being around her and spending time is worth more than gold :)

❤️

Nice pic and glad that the bond is still strong.
You are a family person.
Keep on postin'

Thank you so much @pouchon! Yes I adore my family and try my best to stay close with them. 😊

Exciting write up

#keep uloging

Thank you so much!! 😃 I surely plan too! 👌🏽

Wonderful photos <3 And I so understand you. I have relatively old parents (they got me very late) and for some time now I am so frightened to lose them... It is an unbearable thought. We must use the time at hand.
Thank you for your lovely post

It really is an unbearable thought. I literally go into a deep sadness when I think about losing my parents. Thanks for sharing that with me. We definitely have to use this time that we have with them wisely~ 😊

Beautiful mother daughter ..
Nice

Thank you. 😊

Yes, please cherish the time you have with your parents, sometimes we forgot that they will not be around forever.

Thanks for the comments on my post, congratulations on your baby girl! Blessing to you.

Absolutely! We have to cherish the time while we can~

You’re welcome! Thank you, blessings to you as well. ☺️

I know what you mean. I'm the same too. My kids stay with my mom when they're not in school & I pick them up daily after work. But, I don't spend enough time with her as we're always rushing to get home.

I always tell myself to do better each time & yet I'm still not. I really don't want to come to a point that I loose her to realize that it's too late.

Absolutely @ireenchew! Please don’t wait till it’s too late. We’re not promised another day so we need to act now. ❤️

Beautiful post i appreciate your beautiful creativity . thanks for sharing in your life

Thank you very much. I appreciate your support in stopping by to read~ 😊

I am glad that you had some alone time with your mom. That is important! Mommas with new babies do a lot of work and sometimes they just need some away time.

My wife's mother came by yesterday. She lives about 2 hours away. It was a blessing for my wife. They were able to share about life and encourage one another. Glad you have that opportunity as well.

Thank you @sumatranate! It was really refreshing having this time away with just my mom.

I’m glad your wife was able to spend some quality time with her mom as well~ 😊

Wow!! Your Mum is pretty and you are too.
Our parents are people we should always cherish as long as we have them because some of them have sacrificed so much for us.
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much!! You are very pretty as well~ 😊

I couldn’t agree more. We only get one set of parents, we need to show them love and cherish them.

Thanks so much for your support and feedback!

I am blushing, thanks for the compliment. You are friendly, I am glad our paths crossed.

You’re welcome ~

Me too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13