Dear Diary: I Was Waiting For My Friend To Give Me His Promised Mud Fish

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

A Mud Fish is what we call it here in English but we call it in two local Tagalog names of "Bulig" <BOO-LEEG> or "Dalag" <DAA-LAG> and it is one of the fishes that I like to eat. I can eat a ton of rice with it because of its distinct taste and texture. I only want it as broiled over a hot coal but it depends on how it was broiled because my father does a bad job often when broiling fish, he doesn't want the scale to get blackened by the hot coal so the fish ends up soggy.


Here you see how they are stunned, caught, and cooked

My friend that gave me some rice before and some eels told me that when he manages to catch the said mudfish which actually is a snakehead fish with electric shock method, a method by which the fishes are caught by stunning them with electrodes that is attached to a lead acid battery pack that is carried on the back.

The time that my friend told me that he will give me some of those mudfishes (provided that when he catches them first) he will drive-by the house to hand me some.

I am just sad that we can never hang around together anymore because of my annoying condition. We made lasting memories together with some of our friends when we went to their rice field's savanna-marshland part of property to spear some fish and hopefully down some wild duck and Heron but we only manage to catch some fish and the fishes that he personally caught by stunning which we ate there too.

Those moments were no longer preceded after my body went downward spiral with its strength until I just went homebound and now bedbound. I must say it was quite frustrating but I am trying to cope still. Little things like this that brings fond memories with my friends gives me a good feeling inside.

Thank goodness for my spirituality I no longer try to miss these "carnal" things that are temporary and focus on the things that are perpetual which is a place in heaven where things will be different, no more tears, misery, fright, worries, sadness, and grief and will get replaced with happiness, comfort, joy and all the good things that I missed here on earth. To God be the glory.

Sort:  

Hola hijo
Que bueno el vídeo.
Me agrado mucho. Hasta Mickey Mouse fué invitado. La música super agradable.
Saludos y Que Dios te Bendiga

Ja, ja, no puedo encontrar un video adecuado y eso fue lo mejor que pude encontrar que muestra la captura de los marlines aturdiéndolos y cocinándolos después asándose sobre las brasas.

JAJAJAJAAJAJA. Buena esa hijo. Me pareció gracioso. Saludos

What fun when you say you would eat tons of rice with fish, hehe, I understand you. Greetings and take care

enjoy your Bulig or Dalaag ....but catching fishes through current is a bad way....casue a lot of little fishes loses in that way

Mud fish are really tasty especially when they are roasted ..it nice to have those memories ..at least you looking forward to something when you get better.
Get well soon

That background music of the video I like a lot, it's relaxing

thanks for this information about the fish, you should know very rich as you say

Fish with rice is the best thing to eat. I love fish

Don't be sad @cryptopie, Don't worry you will soon be fine and you'll start making new memories :)

The fish is delicious, however the method of fishing using electricity seems ruthless, we need food to survive but it is not a reason to be cruel.

Hello dear friend, you are really very lucky to have a beautiful friendship, I find interesting the technique used to catch these fish, I had never heard of it. I have days wishing to eat fish and your publication has increased the craving hahaha. I hope to taste it soon. A hug and bless every day of your life to your friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79