Ulog #7 | A Quaint Yet Lovely Birthday Lunch at AMOR

in #ulog6 years ago

Since I became a mom, I never had a full-blown birthday party. I've never been fond of those even when I was still single. Maybe I didn't have any want for that because my mother was all-out in preparing one for us even without our prodding. During parties, I found myself spending time with a small circle of friends, all the other guests were my mom's and my siblings'.

Thankfully, Red has the same sentiment. If there was any time we wanted a party, it was definitely one for our kids. In all the years Red and I have been together, we both kept our birthday celebrations simple. Our goal is to make sure we celebrate each other everyday, even when there is no occasion. But we also want to make sure we make it somehow special. We either have our favorite food at home or dine out at restaurant we really like.

This year, Red took me to one of our favorites. There's a gem of a place called Amor that we frequent. Amor is a Spanish word that means Love, and I have nothing but love for this restaurant. 20180804_230950.jpg

They actually refer to the place as a Bakery, simply because they bake all sorts of breads and pastries that will suit everybody's palate. I know that's not unheard of, but what makes it absolutely special is how they made use of an otherwise small space and turned it into a warm cozy place where one can truly indulge in good food.

The wall has an artistic splash that compliments the eccentric design of the heavy wooden furniture.20180804_123836.jpg

The massive shelf, strewn with books, at the center of everything is definitely the highlight. The sturdy wood is light in color and made the whole place look homey. I dream of having a library in our own house. Just a small shelf to accommodate the books we collect, and some comfy seats where Red and I could spend some quiet afternoons with our girls.20180804_124108.jpg

20180804_122816.jpg

I find the lamps with deviating designs pretty. The streak of colors gave the place a fun and chill vibe. I somehow feel like they are of different origins. The one near the shelf looked like something I would find inside a house in London, while there was one that looks oriental. There were also lamps that looked straight out of Arabian Nights. 20180804_121935.jpg

20180804_123919.jpg

20180804_123857.jpg

My small family and I were the first ones at the bakery-slash-restaurant that day and we got to choose the spot we really liked, which are the seats right beside the gigantic wooden shelf.

20180804_122728.jpg

I've always found it nice to be surrounded by books, and I'm glad my girls also share my love for them. Sam has only been exposed to fiction (ie. Harry Potter, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Diary of a Wimpy Kid), but the shelves offered a variety of genres and we went through some of them while waiting for our food. There really is no dull moment in this happy place.

20180806_080857.jpg

We didn't wait long though. Considering our orders, they made good time. I got Braised Pork Belly with Buttered Vegetable SPears and Mashed Potatoes, and it was absolutely heaven. The pork belly was so tender, something that was achieved through slow cooking. The soft meat was drenched in sauce which they say is from whole peeled tomatoes and wine. They serve it with rice, truffled whipped potatoes and vegetables.20180804_123653.jpg

Red had the Chicken Al Pesto Pasta, which is his favorite from the restaurant. The cream based, pesto-infused pasta is topped with strips of teriyaki chicken that are delightfully crispy. I have tried it before and it is also one of my favorites from the restaurant.20180804_123714.jpg

Whenever we dine at Amor, Sam would order the Baked Penne Parmegiana. This is a vegetarian meal, where the baked penne riggate pasta is tossed with only marinara and alfredo sauce. Sam especially loves the mozzarella cheese on top of the whole thing.20180804_123746.jpg

For our drinks, I got the Refreshing Cucumber Mint, while Sam enjoyed her Watermelon Strawberry. Red is not a fan of fruity, or what he calls "sweet" drinks and got a soda.20180805_230727.jpg

As I mentioned earlier, Amor is a bakery. They have a wide selection of pastries and bread. There are so many to choose from, they have just about something for everyone. 20180805_233319.jpg

Below are some that we have already tried. With the current exchange between Philippine Peso and the US Dollar, all of them are about a dollar and some cents.

20180804_122159.jpg
Spicy Sausage - Bread loaded with sausage, spicy chicken floss, tomato ketchup, green pepper, and cheese

20180804_122224.jpg
Crispy Almond Wedge - Sweet bread topped with butter cream and toasted almonds.

20180804_122253.jpg
Parmesan Ham Bun - Soft bread topped with parsley. Filled with ham, sliced cheese, and powdered cheese

20180804_122325.jpg
Three Amigos - Savory bread with melted cheese sauce.

20180804_122307.jpg
Seaweed Cup - Made with sweet dough, and topped with egg cream, spring onion, seaweed chicken floss, and sesame

To have been blessed another year is a wonderful thing. It was celebrated with fantastic food, with the company of people who matter the most, in a place that I have come to love. It was indeed a happy day.

All photos are mine, taken using a Samsung S7 Edge camera phone


@ulogs is another awesome production of @surpassinggoogle and a subsidiary of @steemgigs. I support Terry and have voted for @steemgigs along with @ausbitbank, @cloh76.witness, and @precise, who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community. You too can cast your vote, just go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

footer2.png

footer.jpg

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Happy birthday sis!!
More blessings and more candles to blow!
Hope you had a great time sis.
Love you guys!
sis pareho tayo Aug 5 ako ikaw naman 6
lovelove hugssss xoxo

Wow! What a beautiful place, A place that every women did wish to be especially on her special day.
It's really a happy day for you.
Happy beautiful birthday.... More Amazing years to come.

Best wishes birthday girl! The lamps look Moroccan. Love the prints on the tables.

Ummmm. Why you upvote me?! 😮😮😮 Do we have complimentary upvotes on our birthdays? 😆😄😅

Yeah since it's your birthday..no worries it's at 20%. Best wishes lola!

@dandalion
Happy birthday.
Have a great time

Happy Birthday @dandalion! (Do we have the same birthdays? Mine was last Aug.03). Happy to see how you managed to have a beautiful and simple celebration with your family. Place looks nice by the way. Sa España to? I was just scrolling about Love Desserts in Banawe and I kinda saw a recommended place also na Amor.

I'm no fan of pesto really but the Chicken Al Pesto Pasta got me really drooling over here.

Posted using Partiko Android

belated happy birthday sau sis.
Aug 5 ako hihi
Cheers everyone!!

Ahihihi. So nung Sunday ka pala talaga :) Thank you sis. Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @dandalion!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Happy Belated Birthday!

Ah! I can imagine that you had great time with your family; good restaurant, good dishes, good bread, good drinks (Watermelon strawberry is my favorite, too. Watermelon means “Tangmo” in Thai!), good books, etc.

I also like their decorations; the lamps, the paintings, the deer, the tables, etc.

The name of the restaurant is good meaning; “amor” = “love”. I used to study Spain, but very long time ago, I almost forgot about it. ;D

The foods and the bread make me feel hungry very much now. :))

Happy b-day Ate @dandalion the foods are certainly delicious from the looks of it in your photos as well as those pastries and of course the memories of it with your family in that restaurant is the best of all.

Ang ganda ng place at mukhang masasarap ang mga pagkain

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17