Sometimes it Just Takes SO Long to Write a Post! (Ulog No. 23)

in #ulog5 years ago

I have noticed that a large part of the reason I am not as active in the Steem Community as I would really like to be.... is that it quite simply takes me too long to create any given post.

Maybe that's not entirely true, because there's a difference between writing "in public" and writing "in private."

Buddha
All the time in the world...

I also have to be honest with myself and recognize that I suck at "short posts;" and I am simply not willing to lend my name to 50 words of garble and a stolen image from the web... and call it my post.

On Having Contiguous Time

I don't actually have any dedicated writing time. I'd like to think that I do, and I'd like to think that I can "make time" to sit down and craft elegant posts for my long from start to finish... but that's just not a happening thing.

When I say that I "write in public," it means that there is a constant stream of interruptions, and I end up looking at the clock at 4:00pm and realizing that I still haven't done a damn thing. Or maybe I've written about two-thirds of a post in three minute increments between other stuff.

Desert
The high desert near Joshua tree, California... near sunset

Procratination? Sure, that's also a monkey on the back... to the extent that I tell myself that I am not going to bother till I can set time aside. But that's really just a "cover story,"

I just don't have the luxury of writing in peace.

I know from (limited) past experience that I can whip out 1,000 words of pretty decent prose in 15 minutes or so... IF there are no people, no phones, no emails or texts pinging.

It's Actually the "Polishing" That Takes Time...

Of course, there's a lot more to writing a post than just stringing 500-1000 words together in some semi-intelligible order... then there's formatting, pictures, sub-headings and so forth.

Blossom
Apple blossom

Perhaps my biggest "enemy" is the fact that I am — among a few dozen other things — a professional Copy Editor by trade. So I'm no more inclined to publish schlock of my own, than I am to allow others to do so... my own worst critic, basically.

Similarly, I am also the source of many of my own frustrations. Going far beyond writing and keeping blogs, I value "doing a good job," and "doing things properly." I also recognize that doing so... regardless of whether it's this Steemit post or building a raised vegetable bed in our garden... simply takes more time.

Which sort of brings me to the heart of why I even started writing these words: In this world that seems to be forever speeding up and taking shortcuts... I feel like I am slowly "growing obsolete." We seem to value speed that there is less and less time (and demand) for any other way. What's more, people might still appreciate "a job well done," but fewer and fewer are willing to pay the price associated with someone taking the time to do something really well.

Change of strategy ahead? It's a strange philosophical crossroads, really... I don't really believe in "if you can't beat them, join them," I believe (at least if I am offering something worthwhile) in pounding "a higher common denominator" into "their" heads until they just give up and join me.

But maybe that's not realistic, anymore. The judge and jury are out on that one...

Thanks for reading!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

xxPHCbanner.jpg

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190314 16:40 PST

0931

Sort:  

I had a long reply/comment in mind, but I am taking a short cut. Speeding up to a much needed nap, as i have driven 1500 ish miles in the last 3 days.

These 2 are ok with the napping, so i will join them now......

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it's really cool that you travel with cats in the cab... and they just seem to be right at home. Only one of my three ever got comfortable with the road trip when I spent a year "commuting" between Austin, TX and Portland, OR... he definitely became my "road cat." The other two? They were generally a bit uncomfortable and thrown off by the whole thing....

This reminds me of a recent experience. I was sent an email for a personal development course that I was somewhat interested in. The descriptions of the course, though, had a few errors and so I emailed the program developer and said, I noticed some pretty small bit important typos in your course description. They’re here, here, and here. Is there anyway I can have a sneak peak at the course to see if it’s something I really want to pursue? I thought he might appreciate my tips. Whether he did or didn’t, I don’t know, but he wrote back, If you’re wasting your time on small errors like that your putting your efforts into the wrong areas.

In some sense, I understand what he was saying, but I still think it’s important to be aware of your final product and image.

This also reminds me of value. You speak about it a lot, and so does Jim Rohn. It’s one thing to do a great job and spend a lot of time producing things of a high quality, but if they aren’t valued highly by other people (or in the marketplace) then you probably won’t get what you want in return from them, that is unless you just want the self satisfaction of knowing that you’ve done something well. For me, and many others I think, that’s kind of a hard pill to swallow.

Thanks for the thoughtful comment @boxcarblue!

I suppose I would call myself a "trend observer" in some fashion... always looking at patterns and trying to recognize where there are subtle changes happening.

It seems that we live in a world where everything is "shortening." And so, there is less and less time, because we have to parse more and more "items" in the same number of hours. As a result, I suppose it has to follow that yours and mine — when it comes to quality/value — are ways that are becoming obsolete... not because they are not appreciated, but because the context within which we operate has changed.

I am currently editing a book manuscript for three early thirty-something guys writing about their industry... and they are totally amazed at how I could pick their manuscript apart and "perfect" it. But there's a... conflict... there: although they admire the heck out of what I did, they have neither the time or patience for it.

And you're right, it's a hard pill to swallow. I am going to get $400 for this editing gig... 20 years ago, I would have gotten $1,000 because what I provided was considered essential; today it is merely considered nice, but a bit of a cog in the wheel.

Like your recent experience... "good enough," is good enough, and I have to somehow make peace with that. Meanwhile, if I want to leave you a 250-word reply rather than just saying "thanks for the comment," that's now the sort of arena in which I can tell myself "yes, that was the right thing to do."

I wonder if “shortening” and “becoming more efficient” are the same thing or different. I can’t really tell anymore. The turn over and pace of things is certainly faster than ever, and volume seems to take precedence these days: get yourself out of obscurity, be known, be relentless, be bold. If you make a mistake, move on quickly. People forget quickly so it’s okay.

I can and can’t comprehend it. I feel like it’s something I can and can’t work with. I’m right on the cusp of this generation gap.

I guess one problem in the scenario you described is that, while good writing is essential, it doesn’t necessarily lead to, or have any connection with, increased sales. That’s why it seems inessential.

I think if you had a reputable name on social media and the manuscripts had your name on them you could charge more for saying you edited them while not even looking at them. Perhaps that’s why having a legitimate way to measure a person’s reputation is more important these days.

I just write whenever I have too much to share again for the most part. Never as planed as I liked it. Even if I set a date and time I just don’t follow them very well. Despite the fact I like to have such schedule in the first place. Some things just can’t be rushed despite ones desire to do so.

I never did very well with schedules and plans. Actually... I am very good at making them, I'm just not good at following them. I get a little ways in, some distraction comes along, and then I miss a couple of days because I am "otherwise engaged." After which, I never quite get fired up to continue...

Please try freewriting on steem, @denmarkguy!

@mariannewest gives a prompt on her blog each day and @freewritehouse is great support to those of us who join in. We just passed 500 days of constant effort at it and have been getting delegations and support recently from various places.

Basically, you get the prompt, write for 5 minutes - non-fiction, fiction, or poetry are all options. Then create or find a photo or graphic and then post!

It's perfect for breaking through all of the issues your talk about here. Freewriting almost every day is a great way to clear my head and sometimes I am shocked by what I write. I am not alone in this.

Please challenge yourself to try it for 30 days and then see what you think. We would love to have you and you will find all kinds of great steemians over there. I hope you will give it a try.

Hi @fitinfun, you know I have considered doing that a few times. I like the idea, and what Marianne has been doing. I used to write "Morning Pages" (not sure if you're familiar with Julia Cameron's work and "The Artist's Way?") every day for the same reason... to clear my head. It was just a personal journal, not in any way for "public consumption."

Anyway, thanks for the invitation!

Oh Yes! I am very familiar with Julia. She was my constant guide a few years back. I think you will fit right in - a lot of us are just like this.

As my dad used to say continually, "You need to publish since you are a writer." My first book is on Amazon, and dedicated to his memory instead of to him like it should have been. We are not getting any younger here, so come on down!

Funny thing is, even though I write a lot... I have never been able to actually sit down and write a book. I edit other people's books, and have been an editor/proofreader for 30+ years, and have even done some "ghost writing" for people.

As my wife and I often say to each other: "yup, we're not 29 anymore!"

Holy cow. I have a good 50 books done, or close to on various drives, and shoot me before I edit or proof, lol. It takes all kinds. Many freewriters are just getting into publishing now. Maybe you can light a fire under us. There is so much talent there, and I do not mean mine lol.

Well, I'm gonna give the freewrite gig a try for 30 days... we'll see what happens. I don't have super strong resolve... and I have a busy schedule. But it sounds like fun, and I could definitely use some shorter content....

I'm already ahead of you, thanks to ginabot and your mention. Fantastic job, and mark your busy calendar. This can be a 15 minute task, and I know there is something you can stop doing for that long. Doing the happy dance over here!

I am a 100% with you on this one. As much as I would like to be more active here, recently I feel like I don't have the time or the energy to do so.

So the outcomes in such situations are 3 - try to continue with the same pace and face a total burnout, give up or continue with "shitposting". Sadly, for the past few months I've seen people who have chosen options 2 and 3. Perhaps there is one last option - try to give your best and do not trade quality for quantity.

Well, I'm just not ready to sell my soul to the Global League of Shitposters quite yet; thanks to @fitinfun I am considering challenging myself with the 5-minute "freewrites" @mariannewest hosts, daily. I tend to get rather too caught up in the details... when you have five minute timer, it tends to force you to just hit the high points of what you wanted to say.

haha! So true. Clear those cobwebs! Although all of us cheat from time to time. Trust me, no one cares. They just want you to write. And Marianne's weekend prompt is in 3 parts and takes you on a wild 15 minute ride. Crazy stories get curied from there frequently.

Reading your comments makes me realize I need to dust off my "Many Places to Post on STEEM" and update it. It's for noobs, but it looks like you old guys need it too. I post 2-3 posts on 2 blogs each day and sometimes reach the nirvana of four posts. I assure you, not one post on either blog is poop :)

Please come and join us. It will be fun to have you in our little community :)

Thanks @mariannewest, I will... and I have!

Hmmm.. I might try this one as well. Thank you!

Well said. I've gone to much shorter posts, as I was not getting good engagement on my more involved posts. I also didn't want to write only about Steemit even though my response rate increased when I do.

As a student, I don't have much time to write yet tend to spend lots of time tweaking my posts. When I was new, a Whale advised us not to burn too much time on posts that won't be seen. :)

I have often wondered if anyone actually cares when I craft a 1000-word illustrated "essay" type post... but it does seem that some people care, because I often get a pretty high level of engagement. And that's a large part of why I write here.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97