Take the bus... steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog5 years ago

I get very surprised looks and often horrified reactions when I mention that I often make use of the bus service in Mauritius. Today is my third bus outing in as many days. 😂

Truth be told.. Taking the bus here is paramount to a religious experience most days but hey.. A bit of praying never goes amiss does it? 🤔 😉

When taking the bus I know I have some time to chill and let someone else do the driving whilst I catch up on some social media posts and or listening to some music without having to worry about the traffic or the route.

It's cheap... From my house to the center of Port Louis it's only Rs31, around R12.

It's uncomfortable sometimes when the bus is full yes. But in a family where there is now three drivers and one car... I just choose to make life easy for all by catching the bus. Hubby does the same as often he doesn't need a car in town and when he does he might just rent one for a few days. Buying cars here are exorbitantly expensive and although renting is just as expensive it was at the end of the day the better option for us but renting two cars on a permanent basis is impossible financially.

On the upside. Once I get to Port Louis I don't have to worry about parking and driving there and taking the bus there takes me the same amount of time with less stress.

Another bonus is that the Xman now is the proud owner of a student bus card which means he uses the bus service 🆓 of charge all over the island.

And besides the point... Who am I not to want to take the bus like a true local of the country I inhabit? When in Rome and all that... I'm not above some discomfort and difficulty and living like a local.

So there you go. Use the bus and have an experience. ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

In India there is only government bus is free for peoples who are 70+.

Good morning! Yes indeed. I think the elderly ride for free here too. There's a very strong Indian presence and culture in Mauritius. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73