6th #Ulog: A Sweet Beacon

in #ulog6 years ago

It's true that prayers may be said in any place and time wherever you are in the world. Yet at times, God really has just a way of calling you. And that was what happened to me.

Right after pressing my forefinger on the biometric machine to time out from school yesterday at 4:30 p. m, I rode in a creaking and almost rusty jeepney.

The sky was gray, an ominous nimbus cloud threatening to pour heavily. The traffic irked me, as the jeepney moved on with a turtle-like pace. I have some errands to do. Got to to stop at a drugstore for the kids vitamins, have to download a new movie and nursery rhymes as well then dropped at the market for some fish and meat.

As we passed along Sto. Nino church, as an impulse and without any second thoughts I hand out to the driver my seven peso fare. Just in time as heavy rains started to pour with a strong gush of wind. I half run,half sprint towards the church entrance.

IMG20180606182042.jpg

Dripping wet, I settled on the nearest vacant pew, just in time for the mass.

MYXJ_20180607161028_save.jpg

IMG20180606172742.jpg

IMG20180606173114.jpg

The gospel Mark 12:18-27, talks about a widow who married all seven brothers after his husband died but she bore no child from any of the said husbands as they all died one after another.

IMG_20180607_163219.jpg
Catholicmom. Com

I never felt overwhelmed as the mass went on. I was in tears at no apparent reason as I hummed on the offertory song, "Lord, I offer my life ".

IMG20180606172718.jpg

Wayback during my elementary, secondary and college years, I actively belong to a Lectors and Commentators Guild who used to read the words of God in our church in town. Me and my family are Roman Catholics. We attend mass together on Sundays too. It was when I was still single then.

IMG20180606171557.jpg

Now that I got married and got three kids of my own, I remember that the last time that I was in the church was a good two years ago during the christening of our little Mig. Even the past New Year and Christmas was just spent in our kitchen as I was busy cooking and preparing menus, instead of hearing mass.

The thought that I was there, internalizing the words of the Lord was truly overwhelming. I felt as if a heavy load was lifted up from my shoulders. I felt light hearted. Smiling, I nod my "peace be with you, " around. The mass has ended, the priest wished us to go in peace.

The churchgoers flocked to touched, kissed and wipe their hankies on the images of Jesus.

IMG20180606180633.jpg

More saints are inside the Veneremus. Many devotees flocked there offering prayers and lighting candles for certain petitions.

IMG20180606180711_1.jpg

IMG20180606181054.jpg

As I genuflect and headed my way out, it seems the rain was starting to halt.

IMG20180606181913.jpg

I went home gaily. And it seemed I was extra kinder to those people and things around me.

I gave 50php bill to the beggar outside the church which I was annoyed and disgusted before. I just smiled at the fat woman who was very apologetic when she accidentally stomped on my new shoes while settling in the jeep and I patted the cat who used to come running when I come home instead of shooing it.

Little things as such creates big impact to certain lives. And I felt so blissful. God has called me and I was glad I take heed of his calling.

Pictures are mine.

Peace may be with you also.

Truly yours,
drahries

Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group (STEEMITDIVERSIFY) and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in ”surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Thank you!

Sincere thanks to @iwrite, @yanzel4lyf and @purpledaisy57 for the continued support.
IMG_20180531_085606.jpg

Sort:  

Little blessings I am glad you were able to attend mass Maybe God was calling you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17