Which language does your love speak? Ulog 29

in #ulog6 years ago

The Five languages of Love


Several years ago, I read a book by Gary Chapman that detailed these languages, and though I'm sure that a case could be made for a few more languages that the heart speaks.... these 5 are a nice start:


  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch
  • Quality Time
  • Gifts


So here is the premise!


Physical touch

This one seems easy. A hugger like @saffisara will give this away easily! Touch means the world to someone like this. It's the way the communicate love, appreciation, closeness, support, etc. When they receive touches - it is just as easy to notice the change in their demeanor. A gentle brush over the back, a pat on the shoulder, holding hands, a massage.... these people will melt under your touch! (only invited touches please, lol! No strangers allowed!) You can also see it when someone does NOT like touch. Best to tune in quickly to what it is that makes their heart sing. Never push touch on a person who bristles when you get too close. Respect that and keep your distance! Yes - even "virtual hugs" can be abrasive, so be sensitive!



Quality Time

If you observe a person that you care about, you should be able to determine how these 5 languages rank in their hearts. Do they love to just sit on the couch and spend hours hearing about what's been going on with you lately? Maybe, love to spend a day at the park with you - all to themselves? There's a good chance that Quality Time is their primary love language.



What about Words of Affirmation?

Do they spend time building people up around them, honoring them by recognizing their achievements and praising them for their impact? Not to be confused with empty flattery, but rather truly lifting people up and encouraging them. You can almost see the way it touches them when you take the time to recognize them. Conversely, you can also recognize a person who is turned off by this. Then to make this extra tricky, there are the humble people who really love it - but can't show it! How do you know the difference? Patience and time (and becoming a really good observer!)



Acts of Service

This could take the form of anything really! People who speak this love language absolutely love to give and receive acts of service. I had an aunt like this, and the best way I could describe her was : merciful. She would clean houses for anyone, cook a meal, paint rooms - you name it, she would be happy to do it for you. These are the people who are baking cookies for you on a rotten day - or coming to your house with a meal for your family during hard times.



Exchanging Gifts

Do you think everyone cares about gifts? They don't! One of the biggest things that I've learned (through this book actually) was to be very aware of people's reactions when they receive gifts! Save yourself the hassle of continuing to win someone over with gifts - if they don't care about gifts! hahaha This is my advice - from experience! You can USUALLY tell if someone is a "gift person" by watching to see if they give a lot of gifts out. I say usually, because this actually does NOT apply to me. I love to give gifts ... but it's probably the lowest language on my list. I don't mind receiving gifts! I just prefer EVERY other language to this one!



I hope this has been a fun way to start observing the people around you! Find their love language, and then start speaking to them in THEIR language. When you take the time to really pay attention, and learn about the people you love, they'll feel so treasured! So, let me encourage you to start observing and loving today!



Image Source Touch, edited by @dreemsteem

Image Source Quality Time, edited by @dreemsteem

Image Source Words of Affirmation, edited by @dreemsteem

Image Source Service, edited by @dreemsteem

Image Source Gifts, edited by @dreemsteem

Flower divider, pieced together and created by @dreemsteem

Sort:  

I did a quiz for this a while back, and it was pretty revealing. Thanks for reminding me about this concept! 💖

hey there Princess :) yeah - i thought it was also!!! it's amazing how sometimes labels really can be effective! (not always! heehehe) but... sometimes just having a few categories really makes a difference in how we frame our perspective! I know it really helped me to start seeing people as different kinds of "lovers" hahahahaha that sounded funny but you know what i mean :)

What you said. I don't like labels, per se, but when I did the quiz and read the descriptions of said labels, more than a few things hit home. ;)

True! We all have different ways how to show love, be it in words, affection or acts of sweetness.

But for me I like mixture of everything. Yeah yeah yeah! Im a hopeless romantic and my significant other is not. At the start it was hard because I expected him to do or say things the way I wanted it. But through the years I realized that I have to respect how he show his LoVE the way he understood what love is. Slowly, he also make it a point he meets me at my level. Like he is not a flower guy, me i love it who doesnt want one??!.. so he only give me flowers once a year! He would rather buy me my favorite foods than flowers. Hahahahaha...😂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

oh my gosh!!!!!!!! i can totally relate!

when you're a romantic and your ex-boyfie is not??? gahhhhhhhhhhhh whyyyyyyyyyyy LOLOLOLOL

hey but i'll take favorite foods over favorite flowers any day - hehehe!!! to me - that's just as romantic ;)

Yes!! Food is life!! I would also choose lobster and crabs and scallops over flowers anytime!...I am not a chocolate person either (except for my moist chocolate cake lols..), so BURGERS will do too.. hahahaha

The trouble with ex-boyfie he says words with actions. hahahah but there are times I wanna hear him saying those magical words... and when he do say it, I'll shocked and would ask him if he is sick or something.. hahahahaha... and he'll say, you are confusing me girl! when I say it, you question it and you laugh so hard! hahahaha lols

I read Words of Affirmation like a long time ago and this is a great post sweets, you know I'm all about spreading the love - in all its glorious forms!

and there are so many glorious forms!!!! hehehehehe thank you my Witty <3

sexy post DS ... saw it on your post for PYPT.

creator of booty trail (for da booty girl),

eagle spirit

hehehehehe you are so funny!!!! LOLOLOL booties in da housssse LOLOLOL

Love to you <3

Thanks for this blast from the past! I had not thought about this book in 15 years or more! 😊

yes it's gotta be at least 15 years now right???? heheheheehe it comes up in my mind now and then as I'm trying to determine to best love different people :)

Timely reminder! Thank you Dreemie!

you're very welcome Twinnie ;)

💛💛💛💛💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05