My First ULOG Post

in #ulog6 years ago

Welcome Steemians one and all to my very first ULOG post! I learned about this type of post from @silversaver888 and after doing a little research have found it is really part of a movement stemming from @surpassinggoogle. The notion is to encourage original content and encourage content creators to share a part of themselves if you will. So I decided to throw my hat in the ring with something a little different. Here is my day of tracking down why there was no power in several outlets and light fixtures in a rental house I am currently doing a little work in. I also primed the kitchen that we had done some drywall work in and fixed and textured the ceiling in. As most of those that have talked to me know I tend to work a lot lol. I have a day job, do construction on my days off, and side hustles that I like to explore.

20180711_173732.jpg
(All Photos by @dwingsworld with a Samsung S7 Edge)

Now imagine this room in all purple and that drainage stack in the corner still in cast iron that has been rusted out. The ceiling had to be ripped out to reinstall ceiling joist that were rotten and were no longer supporting the bathroom above, which was were this adventure started. This rental has seen much better days, but I am hoping to help the owner.

Now, the longer part of the day was spent trying to track down power was off to four outlets in the living room, two outlets in the dining room, the light in a bathroom and the dining room. It is my opinion that the previous tennants were cutting out wires to scrap, which is not only wrong, but makes no sense when you figure they were shutting power off to themselves. Anyway, myself and two others spent about three hours solving this puzzle.

20180711_142658.jpg

One of the problems was a test breaker that was located in the box. It took about an hour to figure that out and it helped restore power to one outlet and the bathroom. The next area was found after tracing a few wires. The previous tenants literally cute the power supply going to a light, which you can see the box for in the center. There was also a wire coming out of that box that was feeding four other outlets. We ran a new line to the light box and jumped power out of it to allow those four outlets to be powered back up.

20180711_142701.jpg

20180711_142707.jpg

This left only one outlet without power and the dining room light. The final outlet was a little easier to figure out because after shinning a little more light in the basement they had cut the wire to it right where it went up into the floor. I reran a wire from the breaker box to the outlet restoring its power.

20180711_163645.jpg

20180711_173712.jpg

Well with 99 percent of the mystery solved; the only part left was the dining room light. It was already past five so it was time to call it quits, but I shall return to try and finish this work. Obviously, I will let you guys in on that work.
Thanks for stopping in and sharing in my work. I appreciate your support and time! Please upvote, resteem, and reply!!

Precious-Swimming-FInal.gif
(Precious Thanks to @silversaver888)

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for all the support this great group gives to all of us!!

Oh my.... how complicated! This is just so way over my head, LOL! WOW, @dwingsworld... you can do all that stuff, and blog, and YouTube, and have a regular work, WOW!

LOL, @silversaver888 it really is not. Think of it like a game of clue or any problem you face when stacking. You start with what you know and work back to find the root of the issue. When you list it like that it does seem like a lot, but I think I told you that my interest and mind often keep going even when I would like them not to lol. I am hoping that the skills I have learned doing construction and the time management that I have developed will allow me to gain multiple passive income streams. This will give me more and more free time to do these things I truly love! Thanks for the introduction to this tag and for your support my friend!!

Welcome to Ulog
I share this useful information to make your ulogs.
Diapositiva1.PNG

Diapositiva2.PNG

Thanks very much for the information and help!!

With copper prices being low I would think this kind of shenanigans would stop. Go figure, not the brightest kind of people.

I don't think the price really matters when all they see is easy money and it is not really hard in their minds. The funny part is often people work harder at doing this crap instead of just working. I have a lot of problems with people that scam others. Just my view. Thanks for all the support you give my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88