Continuing with my R training - an update to my continuing education! - ULOG

in #ulog5 years ago

Fans and followers of mine will recall that I am, using online courses and other materials, teaching myself to program with R. I haven't updated you all on this progress in quite a long time, so when I was thinking about putting a post out tonight, I decided to talk about it and what I have been doing for most of today.

Since I last posted about this, I found a great program on Edx through HarvardX, its a nine course series on Data Science specifically targeting R programming and statistical analysis. I studied statistical analysis quite deeply at university, and so I have a bit of a leg up in these courses.

next course.png
This is my next course

The courses consist of several series of very concise videos, followed by a series of homework on none other than datacamp. Since I am already a datacamp user, I have been doing much of my aided learning on that platform already this year, there was no learning curve at all for me. In fact, I can use other courses on datacamp to supplement my learning and practice, which makes me feel like I am really getting enough content to learn the material really well.

I am already very happy with how much in R is becoming comfortable for me to use!

3 down.png
3 down, 6 to go!

In order to officially get the final 'certification', I must have verified certificates in all of the courses. You see, these courses are free to take, but if you want a digital certificate, you have to pay money. Luckily, I found edx's financial aid application, and have been having success! They won't let me apply for financial aid on all nine courses at once, but one at a time. So far I have received financial aid in the first 3 courses, and have now applied for the fourth as I get started on it.

According to the site, a student can only receive aid for up to 5 courses in a calendar year, so my brilliant plan is to do four or five courses before the year ends, then be able to apply and finish the others in 2019. This is the difference of paying between 49 and 99 dollars per course and, at the 90 percent discount that financial aid applies, 4.90 - 9.90 per course. If anyone out there is having financial difficulty and wants to get a verified certificate, I would highly recommend this financial aid application linked above.

next class.png
Currently we are deep into statistics, and the math behind them

All in all I feel as if I continue to make good progress, and I have found a way to not only learn the material I want to but also to earn a certificate from the prestigious Harvard (well, HarvardX) to go along with my learning. I am reviewing statistics, which I learned well but haven't touched in a while, and am reconnecting with my inner student - that is, reestablishing the discipline to sit myself down and learn something without clicking off into the wilds of the internet.

What do you want to learn, or what are you learning? Let me know in the comments! Encouragement is also appreciated!

May God Bless you All with Love and Friendship!

Sort:  

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 10650+ Followers — just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also will receive a 100% upvote)!

Make sure to check out our new project: @lifetimebot - a subscription & share based upvote-bot. Only a few shares left for purchase at the moment.

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + daily upvotes!

Hi @ecoinstant!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.536 which ranks you at #1883 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #76.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14