Hello World

in #ulog6 years ago

I’m so happy to be home in Montreal, I feel like I am a man of 2 homes both of which I happen to love just as much. Right now I am in my mom’s gipsy palace in Outremont on a hot day. We both agree that AC is a last resort and we are pushing efficient ventilation to the max. Scratch that, she just turned it on.

By choosing this title, does it mean that I’m coding?

I was nervous to take the plane but once I got on it, the anxiety disappeared because I’m not quite scared of flying. We had a good amount of legroom for economy and the five hour flight went swimmingly even though I was between two people.

Jet lag was crazy but I had a solid mid-day nap which proved essential for a serene state of mind.

Three days later things have went so fast. I took my 70 year old mom to virage campus to listen to some world music tech house. I feel proud to have her by my side at such eclectic event, it’s not like I have to tend to her, she just lounges and enjoys the vibe. This coming Sunday promises to be an awesome edition of these nights With Dimensions I can’t wait for us to go.

F69FFFBC-0D37-4521-8CAB-F4C83D51A943.jpeg

8179F5EC-6644-43B0-B69A-44B432AC9DFD.jpeg

75C05B0D-8BAE-458B-AC23-7AABD11ACA6B.jpeg

81EC6C19-94B1-4B31-B6BB-320FE0E7D0CE.jpeg

Here I am bar hopping in the village, taking it all in, ready for anything.

1A7CE4E6-6C31-4087-8D84-2C6A817B6A3D.jpeg

I was very impressed walking back home in the early morning to find pedestrian areas where common streets used to lie. There’s nothing like sacrificing convenience for cars to curb CO2 emissions and in a city like this where many wish to see air quality improved. Without the backing of committed Citrizens, I don’t see how these wonderful initiatives could have ever seen the light of day.

35AD18CA-6113-48AF-8FBF-1CB0A3BF92E6.jpeg

881676D7-15F1-43AD-9E72-A272139B9DBD.jpeg

Where the mural festival is quickly filling Vancouver with overly curated but appreciated displays of street art, graffiti has been the at the heart of Montreal life for generations. It’s organic evolution is more than an afterthought, and is part of the very soul of this city.

This colourful perspective leads to the iconic triple hill which gave Montreal its name. In the early stages of the settlement, Ville-Marie and Montreal were both valid names and therefore interchangeable until Montreal was officially (yet with no official statement) chosen somewhere in the 18th century.

8A8644B9-9356-4B8A-B3D5-EFD57B3218E6.jpeg

This apartment is a bit creepy and reminds me of a horror movie from my childhood calle Opération Beurre de Peanut or The Peanut Butter Opration where a house’s only entrance is a dark attick window only accessible by walking up a pile of rubbish. There, a villain is growing children’s hair to sell it as wigs. I’m afraid of this ominous window to this day but I’m sure it would be the only part of the movie to give me the jeepers were I to watch it again.

9ED4612F-B1DE-4237-B71D-08F2A473C93C.jpeg

It is not as a tourist that Montreal is my playground because I feel connected to this place in a deep way. It is where I learned that being myself makes me happiest. The ornate colonial architecture takes from many places in Europe Portugal having influenced my beloved Mile-End with it’s wooden sculpted rails and columns. The morning light shining on the brick walls, I open my arms to a world of unique experiences.

I took these photos with my Hussein’s P9 and there are no filters except for the one with the DJ.

Sort:  

You're mom sounds ....cool af! =)
What's the first picture?
Those murals are awesome, even if overly curated. Glad you are having a nice time my friend!

She really is. That place is Virage Campus MIL. The vacant site was supposed to become a giant hospital but instead it became part of U de M which values the park as a space of innovation. This is how my friend’s production company Noerg was allowed to be at the center of the site’s electronic music scene. These are the spontaneous murals, the curated ones are in Vancouver where it’s like they realized last year the city was way too plain. What I’m saying is that the organic evolution here in Montreal, as shown by the prevalence of tags for example, can’t be rivaled by a sudden desire for aesthetically pleasing murals.

Super glad you enjoyed this post thanks for popping by!

That's interesting. Thanks for 'splaining :)

You’re welcome!

Ohhh. You are so beautiful. This looks like a lovely trip.

Absolutely!

Hello @edouard, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks a bunch creative bot!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-07T17:29:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 106.70/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.47 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16