ULog#29: Cleaning Out Digital Clutter

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

         Looks like we are approaching the midpoint of the year. Summer has always been a fun, but busy time. This year will be no different. Things on the home front and at work continue to evolve. Sometimes, it makes me wonder if anything I planned is applicable to the situation.

light.jpg
And I caught this imagery two days in a row...still couldn't get a good shot.

         It has been stormy for the past two weeks. I do not know if we have surpassed a record in terms of rainfall in the desert, but it almost rained daily.

         There was beauty to appreciate. Although, the quality of my phone camera was not enough to do so. It did not help that window glare was in the way.

         The photo shows sunlight hitting the landscape around dusk. The golden reflections against a darkening background. It felt like it could be from a Lord of the Rings movie. Alas, I could not do it justice.

In Life

         I managed to purge my Twitter of all the nonsense I have ever liked, posted, etc. Now, it's cleaner. I have revamped it so I will only follow politicians and certain entities that could affect my life. I will not be posting from that account. I figured that would be a productive use of my personal account.

         The next step is to deal with my other social media accounts like Instagram and Facebook. I dread the Facebook clean sweep as I have used it since 2007. There are going to be years of stuff to purge. Yeah, they most likely have an archive of my profile, but I would rather not let the general public access to it. I will use FB to keep in touch with people I want to stay connected with in the future.

         Other than that, getting rid of the clutter in storage has been a major project. It is amazing how much junk I have accumulated in five years. I still remember going back to college in 2010 with two suitcases. I imagine it only gets worse from here.

On Steem

         I did as I mentioned in my last post that I would start claiming accounts for my own amusements. I chose the names to be parodies of popular dapps on the platform. There is no ill-intent, only random fun to be had as I go through using them.

         I have decided to limit myself to certain type of posts on this account. In reality, this was most likely not needed. But hey, I did not want to clutter up one page with a flurry of posts for when I do post.

         To me, there is no point of sticking around if it feels like drudgery. I know we all spend a fair amount of money on entertainment, but I want to make it worth it.

         With that said, do pay @spam2steem, @dspam, etc. a visit. While you are at it, remember the irony.

Sort:  

A treat to read and I who have a cupboard full of clothes that I simply cannot wear and need to clear out desperately, have not thought to declutter digitally.
I will get to it immediately.
Thank you for the wise reminder.

Haha, you are not the only one. I have only recently thought of decluttering digitally. Been chugging along years without doing any of it.

Looks like a beautiful area! Sounds like you're doing similar as I am except perhaps for different reasons?
I see you mentioned this.

Yeah, they most likely have an archive of my profile, but I would rather not let the general public access to it.

Can you go more into the reasoning for that? I'm curious.

Also the spam2steem and dspam stuff is interesting and kinda funny.

I have decided that the less people know about me the better.

And I’m glad you found my alts somewhat funny.

Since I joined steemit,i guess my time on other social media has reduced drastically majorly Facebook. Kind of boring for me wasting my time on Facebook. Getting use and soak to steemit

Well, don't spend too much time.

I went 'minimal' about 13 years ago and now I can fit all my belongings in one suitcase. However, my digital life is still a real mess, in still have files going back to the early 90s I just can't bear to say goodbye to!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't mind storing stuff offline, but having some organization is nice.

I would like to have my digital libraries more in shape than it currently is.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83