Cooking for One [ulog #5]

in #ulog6 years ago

What to cook, what to cook... It's just me and Opal. Opal gets the usual dry food which she does not like, although I am changing it up a bit. Some wet can food is now in the mix. And sometimes we'll cook human food and give her a bit too, and she'll eat it up!

My thinking recently is to find something I can cook that everyone can eat. One thing is that I've heard that oil and salts are a no-no for the doggo, so I did think of something I'll be trying soon: Chicken, peas, carrots, and rice. Cook that mixture, and put aside some for Opal, and then add flavor. I wonder why dogs can't have the same flavors hmm.

Anyway, as I was looking through the fridge for cleaning things out, I found stuff that I felt would make a good fried rice. Chinese sausage, celery, and I forget what that yellow pickle is called. Probably could have used some garlic, onion, and/or ginger but I forgot or was too lazy to add it.

friedricestuff.jpg

I like looking at the colors of the thing. I wonder if that yellow color is natural. Probably not. I tried to avoid things with food coloring when I can. Will make a mental note of it. But yeah, medium-high heat, add a bit of oil, sear the ingredients, and once soft, adding the rice.

friedrice.jpg

Oh there's raisins in there too. Makes for a sweeter-side of the fried rice. Then sesame oil to give it a nice fragrance, a dab of soy sauce and a bit of salt and it just hits the spot. Sesame oil is amazing, it just has a nice smell and really adds to the taste. I can probably just have sesame oil + rice + salt and be satisfied haha.

Speaking of sesame oil, a friend bought this skin product that is made with sesame oil. And after using it, they became hungry. Anyway, that's all I wanted to share for today. I need to get cleaning... Ugh.

And just remember, sesame oil is the best.

Sort:  

hi @eeonwarped

I didn't hear from you in a while so I decided to check your blog to see if you're still active or taking a break.

Im glad to see tht you're still around. Obviously upvoted :)

ps. I wanted to ask you a question. You mind telling me what's your view on latest HF20 introduced on steemit? Did it affect you in any way?

ps.2. did you stop blogging about crypto completly? :(

Obviously upvoted.
Yours, Piotr

Oh why hello there! HF20 didn't affect me much, to be perfectly honest. But that's also because I invested quite heavily. I do help those that struggle with a little bit of delegation though. What about you?

I write the occasional steem-focused post and maybe generic crypto sentiment, but I do try to get a variety. But yeah, I'm still here! Nice to see you around, I see you are making the rounds ;)

I love how responsive you are @eonwarped :)

Looks delicious!
Still haven't tried sesame oil but since you are praising it I might go for it soon. :)

I think it depends on the person haha... I just happen to really like the smell. Do let me know how your experience is.

Oh, wow, brother...that looks really delicious! And yeah...sesame oil rules! I may have to try this!

Yes! Can you mail me some of his? Thanks! :)

Raisins in fried rice ..... That's one too far for me
Anyway, I always find them a bit too sticky on the teeth

I think it depends on how you do it. I remember my old roommate used to soak them in hot water, and they wouldn't really be so sticky after that. The ones I put in there turned out great too, seemed the cooking got the stickiness out of it.

One of the most colourful dishes i have seen in a long time! Or maybe my menu is just too boring:D

They key to a balanced diet is to have lots of colors. Or so I hear. Lol.

That looks great. Sesame oil is also great. Especially since you can make the following old cringeworthy pun when opening the bottle: O-pun sesame

O-pun sesame

Lol. You got me in the funnies. Wait. I don't get it. It's a pun that just inserts the word "pun" into a phrase? mind flips upsidedown

pun about a pun. Pun-ception :D

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.640 which ranks you at #1596 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 1586).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84